Public Graduate Average 37/100

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Shreveport, Louisiana

About Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport

Thinking about Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport, a college in Louisiana where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Shreveport, Louisiana. It enrolls 21 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$74,671
Enrollment
21
Student : Faculty
3:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Average
37/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 10
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
15%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
60%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$10,431
25% percentile
$21,250
75% percentile
What this means: 15% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport has not reported completion figures. That is common for smaller and newer schools, but it is worth asking directly how many students finish, because a degree you do not complete still has to be paid for.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $74,671 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$74,671
Earning > $25K
96%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$64,000$67,000$70,000$73,000$76,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$103,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$158,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $54,400, about 34% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 21 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
21
Part-Time
10%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 52.4% 11
Black 19.1% 4
Other 14.3% 3
Asian 9.5% 2
Hispanic 4.8% 1
White: 52.4% (11 students)Black: 19.1% (4 students)Other: 14.3% (3 students)Asian: 9.5% (2 students)Hispanic: 4.8% (1 students)Total21

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Shreveport, Louisiana
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
60% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Biology graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport offers a varied set of programs: 13 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

8 Programs
5 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 3 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
3:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,826,349
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$218M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$70,581
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

469 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 55 12% $86,271
Associate Professors 83 18% $87,109
Assistant Professors 285 61% $71,051
Instructors 45 10% $65,728
No Rank 1 0% —

Pros & Cons of Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport is a fit for students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport

The questions families ask most about Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What is Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport known for?
Mostly Medicine, Allied Health Diagnostic, Rehabilitation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport graduates earn?
About $74,671 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport accredited?
Yes. Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport?
21 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport located?
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport is located in Shreveport, Louisiana.
What programs does Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport offer?
13 different programs, most commonly Medicine, Allied Health Diagnostic, Rehabilitation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-Shreveport?
3 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.