Public Associate Good 68/100

Mayland Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Spruce Pine, North Carolina

About Mayland Community College

Thinking about Mayland Community College, a college in North Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Mayland Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Spruce Pine, North Carolina. It enrolls 362 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
30.4%
Net Price
$5,861
Median Earnings (10yr)
$34,663
Enrollment
362
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
68/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 42
Value 75
Affordability 50
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Mayland Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $5,861 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$5,861
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
25%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,626
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,770
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,130
Books & Supplies
$1,194
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,070
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,932

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,571
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $7,116
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,502
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $8,841
What this means: 25% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

30% of students who start here finish within six years, and 62% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
30%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
62%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,663 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,663
Earning > $25K
56%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$32,500$33,500$34,000$35,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$25,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$30,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$5.9 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 362 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college, and 65% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
362
Part-Time
65%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 89.5% 324
Hispanic 5.8% 21
Black 1.4% 5
Other 1.1% 4
Asian 0.6% 2
White: 89.5% (324 students)Hispanic: 5.8% (21 students)Black: 1.4% (5 students)Other: 1.1% (4 students)Asian: 0.6% (2 students)Total362

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Mayland Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
16% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Mayland Community College offers a varied set of programs: 17 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
6 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$14,741
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$6.0M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$56,428
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

27 instructional faculty across 2 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 1 4% $51,160
No Rank 26 96% $56,630

Pros & Cons of Mayland Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Mayland Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Mayland Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Mayland Community College

The questions families ask most about Mayland Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Mayland Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Mayland Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Mayland Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Mayland Community College cost?
Budget around $5,861 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Mayland Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,663 a year against a net price of $5,861, about 5.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Mayland Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Mayland Community College graduates earn?
About $34,663 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Mayland Community College accredited?
Yes. Mayland Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Mayland Community College?
362 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Mayland Community College?
30% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Mayland Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Mayland Community College located?
Mayland Community College is located in Spruce Pine, North Carolina.
What programs does Mayland Community College offer?
17 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Mayland Community College?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.