Private For-Profit Associate Good 56/100

Meridian College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Sarasota, Florida

About Meridian College

Thinking about Meridian College, a college in Florida where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Meridian College is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Sarasota, Florida. It enrolls 163 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
61.8%
Net Price
$29,812
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,735
Enrollment
163
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
56/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 58
Value 6
Affordability 40
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Meridian College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $29,812 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$29,812
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
54%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
52%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $27,793
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $32,922
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $33,683

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,886
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$13,000
Median percentile
$13,000
75% percentile
$23,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,000 —
No Pell $13,000 —
Dependent students $7,667 ↓ $5,333
Independent students $13,000 —
Pell recipients: 27.9% (3,621 students)No Pell: 27.9% (3,621 students)Dependent students: 16.4% (2,136 students)Independent students: 27.9% (3,621 students)Overall Median$13,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($13,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

62% of students who start here finish within six years, and 68% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
62%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
68%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,735 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,735
Earning > $25K
57%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,500$34,500$35,500$36,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 18.5 pts across 6 years
22.9%1yr30.6%3yr37.5%5yr41.4%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 41% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 163 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 54% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
163
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
54%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 50.9% 83
Black 23.9% 39
Hispanic 21.5% 35
Other 2.5% 4
Asian 0.6% 1
White: 50.9% (83 students)Black: 23.9% (39 students)Hispanic: 21.5% (35 students)Other: 2.5% (4 students)Asian: 0.6% (1 students)Total163

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Meridian College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Sarasota, Florida
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
47% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Personal Services graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Meridian College offers a focused set of programs: 7 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$34,313
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Meridian College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Meridian College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Meridian College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Meridian College

The questions families ask most about Meridian College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Meridian College hard to get into?
Not especially. Meridian College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Meridian College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Meridian College cost?
Budget around $29,812 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Meridian College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,735 a year against a net price of $29,812, about 1.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Meridian College known for?
Mostly Cosmetology, Allied Health Diagnostic, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Meridian College graduates earn?
About $33,735 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Meridian College accredited?
Yes. Meridian College is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Meridian College?
163 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Meridian College?
62% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Meridian College a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Meridian College located?
Meridian College is located in Sarasota, Florida.
What programs does Meridian College offer?
7 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology, Allied Health Diagnostic, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Meridian College?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.