Public Graduate Good 63/100

Miami University-Hamilton

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Hamilton, Ohio

About Miami University-Hamilton

Thinking about Miami University-Hamilton, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Miami University-Hamilton is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Hamilton, Ohio. It enrolls 2,043 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
56.8%
Net Price
$11,286
Median Earnings (10yr)
$55,076
Enrollment
2,043
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
63/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 27
Value 75
Affordability 47
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Miami University-Hamilton does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,286 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,286
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
30%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
32%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$7,491
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$19,407
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,590
Books & Supplies
$1,250
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,494
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,352

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,760
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,737
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $11,171
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $13,775
  • Over $110,000
    $14,425

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$6,000
25% percentile
$23,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$33,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,000 ↓ $7,000
No Pell $16,000 ↓ $7,000
Dependent students $16,032 ↓ $6,968
Independent students $14,834 ↓ $8,166
Female students $17,000 ↓ $6,000
Male students $15,000 ↓ $8,000
Pell recipients: 16.9% (3,879 students)No Pell: 16.9% (3,879 students)Dependent students: 16.9% (3,887 students)Independent students: 15.6% (3,596 students)Female students: 17.9% (4,122 students)Male students: 15.8% (3,637 students)Overall Median$23,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,500, less than completers ($23,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

57% of students who start here finish within six years, and 53% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
57%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
53%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $55,076 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$55,076
Earning > $25K
79%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$49,000$51,000$52,000$54,000$56,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$48,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$64,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$41,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$51,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$61,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $15,600, about 24% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.9 pts across 6 years
73.4%1yr77.4%3yr81.6%5yr87.3%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 87% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,043 students, a mid-sized community.

Total Enrolled
2,043
Part-Time
20%
First-Generation
23%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 66.8% 1,365
Black 9.6% 197
Hispanic 7.6% 155
Asian 4.9% 100
Other 4.9% 99
International 4.5% 92
White: 66.8% (1,365 students)Black: 9.6% (197 students)Hispanic: 7.6% (155 students)Asian: 4.9% (100 students)Other: 4.9% (99 students)International: 4.5% (92 students)Total2,043

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Miami University-Hamilton. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Hamilton, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
16% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Miami University-Hamilton offers a varied set of programs: 26 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,366
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$73,491
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

111 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 12 11% $107,436
Associate Professors 36 32% $84,284
Assistant Professors 25 23% $70,824
Instructors 15 14% $44,714
Lecturers 23 21% $60,553

Pros & Cons of Miami University-Hamilton

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Miami University-Hamilton is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • First-year retention is below typical

Frequently Asked Questions about Miami University-Hamilton

The questions families ask most about Miami University-Hamilton, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Miami University-Hamilton cost?
Budget around $11,286 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Miami University-Hamilton worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $55,076 a year against a net price of $11,286, about 4.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Miami University-Hamilton known for?
Mostly Nursing, Entrepreneurship, Liberal Arts. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Miami University-Hamilton graduates earn?
About $55,076 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Miami University-Hamilton accredited?
Yes. Miami University-Hamilton is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Miami University-Hamilton?
2,043 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Miami University-Hamilton?
57% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Miami University-Hamilton a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Miami University-Hamilton located?
Miami University-Hamilton is located in Hamilton, Ohio.
What programs does Miami University-Hamilton offer?
26 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Entrepreneurship, Liberal Arts. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Miami University-Hamilton?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.