Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Fair 55/100

Miles College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Fairfield, Alabama

About Miles College

Thinking about Miles College, a college in Alabama where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Miles College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Fairfield, Alabama. It enrolls 1,155 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
12.8%
Net Price
$14,271
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,627
Enrollment
1,155
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
55/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 23
Value 34
Affordability 67
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Miles College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,271 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$14,271
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
72%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
73%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$13,314
Room & Board (on-campus)
$7,348
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,845
Books & Supplies
$250
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,832
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,992
Total Cost of Attendance
$21,154

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $13,907
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $13,677
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $16,747
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $18,889

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,783
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$31,217
Median percentile
$28,271
75% percentile
$40,998
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,392 ↓ $14,825
No Pell $12,000 ↓ $19,217
Dependent students $14,999 ↓ $16,218
Independent students $18,500 ↓ $12,717
Female students $18,751 ↓ $12,466
Male students $14,250 ↓ $16,967
Pell recipients: 17.3% (5,393 students)No Pell: 12.6% (3,948 students)Dependent students: 15.8% (4,934 students)Independent students: 19.5% (6,086 students)Female students: 19.8% (6,169 students)Male students: 15.0% (4,688 students)Overall Median$31,217
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $12,200, less than completers ($31,217), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

13% of students who start here finish within six years, and 56% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
13%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
56%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,627 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,627
Earning > $25K
54%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$25,000$27,000$29,000$31,000$34,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$31,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$27,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$31,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$34,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 18.1 pts across 6 years
20.3%1yr25.8%3yr38.4%5yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 38% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,155 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 42% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,155
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
42%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 93.2% 1,076
White 3.3% 38
Hispanic 2.0% 23
Other 1.1% 13
Asian 0.2% 2
Black: 93.2% (1,076 students)White: 3.3% (38 students)Hispanic: 2.0% (23 students)Other: 1.1% (13 students)Asian: 0.2% (2 students)Total1,155

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Miles College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Fairfield, Alabama
Housing
Strongly residential 882 beds for 1,155 students
Adult Learners
14% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Criminal Justice graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Miles College offers a varied set of programs: 16 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$78M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$48,800
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

64 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 6 9% $62,904
Associate Professors 8 13% $57,262
Assistant Professors 15 23% $51,264
Instructors 35 55% $43,393

Pros & Cons of Miles College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Miles College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Miles College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Miles College

The questions families ask most about Miles College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Miles College cost?
Budget around $14,271 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Miles College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,627 a year against a net price of $14,271, about 2.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Miles College known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Criminal Justice, Business & Management, Other. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Miles College graduates earn?
About $32,627 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Miles College accredited?
Yes. Miles College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Miles College?
1,155 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Miles College?
13% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Miles College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Miles College located?
Miles College is located in Fairfield, Alabama.
What programs does Miles College offer?
16 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Criminal Justice, Business & Management, Other. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Miles College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.