Public Associate Good 57/100

Minnesota State College Southeast

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Winona, Minnesota

About Minnesota State College Southeast

Thinking about Minnesota State College Southeast, a college in Minnesota where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Minnesota State College Southeast is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Winona, Minnesota. It enrolls 1,388 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
38.5%
Net Price
$16,140
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,613
Enrollment
1,388
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
57/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 46
Value 36
Affordability 27
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Minnesota State College Southeast admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $16,140 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$16,140
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
25%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
22%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$6,432
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,546
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,132
Total Cost of Attendance
$21,397

Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $15,072
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $14,387
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $16,036
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $18,659
  • Over $110,000
    $20,908

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$12,971
Median percentile
$17,750
75% percentile
$28,080
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,937 ↓ $1,034
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $7,471
Dependent students $6,250 ↓ $6,721
Independent students $11,400 ↓ $1,571
Female students $10,500 ↓ $2,471
Male students $8,000 ↓ $4,971
Pell recipients: 22.3% (2,889 students)No Pell: 10.3% (1,331 students)Dependent students: 11.7% (1,513 students)Independent students: 21.3% (2,759 students)Female students: 19.6% (2,542 students)Male students: 14.9% (1,936 students)Overall Median$12,971
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,425, less than completers ($12,971), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

39% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
39%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,613 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,613
Earning > $25K
71%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$41,500$42,000$42,500$43,500$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$42,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$42,300

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,200, about 22% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 15.5 pts across 6 years
63%1yr69.3%3yr73.6%5yr78.5%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 78% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,388 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 35% are the first in their family to go to college, and 46% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,388
Part-Time
46%
First-Generation
35%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 78.0% 1,083
Hispanic 7.4% 103
Black 5.6% 78
Other 4.5% 62
Asian 2.6% 36
International 0.3% 4
White: 78.0% (1,083 students)Hispanic: 7.4% (103 students)Black: 5.6% (78 students)Other: 4.5% (62 students)Asian: 2.6% (36 students)International: 0.3% (4 students)Total1,388

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Minnesota State College Southeast. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Winona, Minnesota
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
29% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Minnesota State College Southeast offers a varied set of programs: 35 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$7,197
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$1.1M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$75,332
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

45 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 45 100% $75,332

Pros & Cons of Minnesota State College Southeast

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Minnesota State College Southeast is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Minnesota State College Southeast is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Minnesota State College Southeast

The questions families ask most about Minnesota State College Southeast, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Minnesota State College Southeast hard to get into?
Not especially. Minnesota State College Southeast admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Minnesota State College Southeast?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Minnesota State College Southeast cost?
Budget around $16,140 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Minnesota State College Southeast worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $43,613 a year against a net price of $16,140, about 2.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Minnesota State College Southeast known for?
Mostly Precision Systems Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians, Nursing, Liberal Arts. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Minnesota State College Southeast graduates earn?
About $43,613 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Minnesota State College Southeast accredited?
Yes. Minnesota State College Southeast is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Minnesota State College Southeast?
1,388 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Minnesota State College Southeast?
39% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Minnesota State College Southeast a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Minnesota State College Southeast located?
Minnesota State College Southeast is located in Winona, Minnesota.
What programs does Minnesota State College Southeast offer?
35 different programs, most commonly Precision Systems Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians, Nursing, Liberal Arts. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Minnesota State College Southeast?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.