Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 60/100

Montserrat College of Art

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Beverly, Massachusetts

About Montserrat College of Art

Thinking about Montserrat College of Art, a college in Massachusetts where more students graduate in Visual & Performing Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Montserrat College of Art is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Beverly, Massachusetts. It enrolls 226 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
60.2%
Net Price
$33,216
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,022
Enrollment
226
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
60/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 81
Value 6
Affordability 26
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Montserrat College of Art does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $33,216 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$33,216
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
35%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
75%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$40,690
Room & Board (on-campus)
$14,890
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,900
Books & Supplies
$3,350
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,600
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,600
Total Cost of Attendance
$58,616

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $25,388
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $29,977
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $32,347
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $37,366
  • Over $110,000
    $39,001

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,500
10% percentile
$11,262
25% percentile
$27,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$34,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $27,000 —
No Pell $21,500 ↓ $5,500
Female students $23,913 ↓ $3,087
Male students $23,375 ↓ $3,625
Pell recipients: 28.2% (7,611 students)No Pell: 22.4% (6,060 students)Female students: 25.0% (6,740 students)Male students: 24.4% (6,589 students)Overall Median$27,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $11,000, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

60% of students who start here finish within six years, and 83% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
60%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
83%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,022 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,022
Earning > $25K
58%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$24,000$26,000$29,000$32,000$34,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$25,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$35,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,700, about 28% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.2 pts across 6 years
57.9%1yr59.3%3yr74.1%5yr
What this signals: Strong. 74% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 226 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 33% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
226
Part-Time
2%
First-Generation
33%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 69.5% 157
Hispanic 12.8% 29
Other 6.6% 15
Black 4.9% 11
Asian 3.1% 7
White: 69.5% (157 students)Hispanic: 12.8% (29 students)Other: 6.6% (15 students)Black: 4.9% (11 students)Asian: 3.1% (7 students)Total226

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Montserrat College of Art. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Beverly, Massachusetts
Housing
Strongly residential 243 beds for 226 students
Adult Learners
5% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Communications Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Montserrat College of Art offers a focused set of programs: 7 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$9.5M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$59,285
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

21 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 13 62% $59,669
Associate Professors 5 24% $61,600
Assistant Professors 3 14% $51,000

Pros & Cons of Montserrat College of Art

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Montserrat College of Art is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Montserrat College of Art is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Montserrat College of Art

The questions families ask most about Montserrat College of Art, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Montserrat College of Art cost?
Budget around $33,216 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Montserrat College of Art worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,022 a year against a net price of $33,216, about 1.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Montserrat College of Art known for?
Mostly Design, Fine Arts, Graphic Communications. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Montserrat College of Art graduates earn?
About $33,022 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Montserrat College of Art accredited?
Yes. Montserrat College of Art is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Montserrat College of Art?
226 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Montserrat College of Art?
60% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Montserrat College of Art a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Montserrat College of Art located?
Montserrat College of Art is located in Beverly, Massachusetts.
What programs does Montserrat College of Art offer?
7 different programs, most commonly Design, Fine Arts, Graphic Communications. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Montserrat College of Art?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.