Thinking about Mount Carmel College of Nursing, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.
Mount Carmel College of Nursing is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Columbus, Ohio. It enrolls 532 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
76/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes56
Value97
Affordability70
Selectivity20
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Mount Carmel College of Nursing admits 84.3% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
84.3%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Mount Carmel College of Nursing is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Getting more selective ↓
16.3 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,420 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$22,080
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,800
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,240
Total Cost of Attendance
$21,446
Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$6,312
$30,001 – $48,000
$7,184
$48,001 – $75,000
$14,438
$75,001 – $110,000
$17,556
Over $110,000
$16,383
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$5,50010%percentile
$11,87525%percentile
$22,082Medianpercentile
$26,97675%percentile
$33,42990%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $21,500
↓ $582
No Pell $19,500
↓ $2,582
Dependent students $18,732
↓ $3,350
Independent students $22,082
—
Female students $20,333
↓ $1,749
Male students $22,082
—
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,149, less than completers ($22,082), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
72% of students who start here finish within six years, and 82% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
72%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
82%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $75,103 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$75,103
Earning > $25K
90%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$55,700
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$59,700
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$58,400
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
7.3 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Excellent. 91% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 532 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 39% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
532
Part-Time
29%
First-Generation
39%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 59.0%314
Black 25.6%136
Asian 6.0%32
Hispanic 5.8%31
Other 3.0%16
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Mount Carmel College of Nursing. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityColumbus, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
43%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated
What You Can Study
Mount Carmel College of Nursing offers
a focused set of programs:
4 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$48M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$75,956
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
57 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
2
4%
$94,359
Associate Professors
16
28%
$83,880
Assistant Professors
28
49%
$74,607
Instructors
11
19%
$64,519
Pros & Cons of Mount Carmel College of Nursing
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Mount Carmel College of Nursing is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for:
Based on the data, Mount Carmel College of Nursing is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Carmel College of Nursing
The questions families ask most about Mount Carmel College of Nursing, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Mount Carmel College of Nursing hard to get into?
Not especially. Mount Carmel College of Nursing admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 84.3%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Mount Carmel College of Nursing?
84.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Mount Carmel College of Nursing cost?
Budget around $10,420 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Mount Carmel College of Nursing worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $75,103 a year against a net price of $10,420, about 7.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Mount Carmel College of Nursing known for?
Mostly Nursing, Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Mount Carmel College of Nursing graduates earn?
About $75,103 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Mount Carmel College of Nursing accredited?
Yes. Mount Carmel College of Nursing is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Mount Carmel College of Nursing?
532 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Mount Carmel College of Nursing?
72% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Mount Carmel College of Nursing a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Mount Carmel College of Nursing located?
Mount Carmel College of Nursing is located in Columbus, Ohio.
What programs does Mount Carmel College of Nursing offer?
4 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Mount Carmel College of Nursing?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Ohio
Other colleges in Ohio share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Special Education
Teacher Education (K-12)
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
The Nursing-School Effect, Why Health Colleges Dominate the Earnings Charts
Health and nursing-named colleges earn 27 percent above the average school, and hospital-run nursing schools turn that into the steepest returns in the data.
Nursing schools
Health colleges
Earnings
College ROI
Registered nurse
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.