Private For-Profit Associate Good 57/100

National Polytechnic College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Lakewood, California

About National Polytechnic College

Thinking about National Polytechnic College, a college in California where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

National Polytechnic College is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Lakewood, California. It enrolls 516 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
77.7%
Net Price
$30,669
Median Earnings (10yr)
$30,781
Enrollment
516
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
57/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 61
Value 4
Affordability 38
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, National Polytechnic College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $30,669 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$30,669
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
51%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
63%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $27,809
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $27,366
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $34,762
  • Over $110,000
    $34,762

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,776
10% percentile
$8,865
25% percentile
$16,098
Median percentile
$19,038
75% percentile
$20,444
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,635 ↓ $2,463
No Pell $19,878 ↑ $3,780
Dependent students $15,083 ↓ $1,015
Independent students $13,645 ↓ $2,453
Female students $13,590 ↓ $2,508
Male students $14,750 ↓ $1,348
Pell recipients: 15.1% (2,423 students)No Pell: 21.9% (3,533 students)Dependent students: 16.7% (2,681 students)Independent students: 15.1% (2,425 students)Female students: 15.0% (2,415 students)Male students: 16.3% (2,621 students)Overall Median$16,098
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,675, less than completers ($16,098), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

78% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
78%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $30,781 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$30,781
Earning > $25K
52%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,500$31,000$31,500$32,000$33,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 2.4 pts across 6 years
29.4%1yr29.9%3yr35.1%5yr31.8%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 32% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 516 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 61% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
516
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
61%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 58.9% 304
Asian 13.4% 69
White 13.0% 67
Black 8.3% 43
Other 5.4% 28
International 0.6% 3
Hispanic: 58.9% (304 students)Asian: 13.4% (69 students)White: 13.0% (67 students)Black: 8.3% (43 students)Other: 5.4% (28 students)International: 0.6% (3 students)Total516

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at National Polytechnic College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Lakewood, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
62% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

National Polytechnic College offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$62,149
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

4 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 4 100% $62,149

Pros & Cons of National Polytechnic College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where National Polytechnic College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, National Polytechnic College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about National Polytechnic College

The questions families ask most about National Polytechnic College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is National Polytechnic College hard to get into?
Not especially. National Polytechnic College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at National Polytechnic College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does National Polytechnic College cost?
Budget around $30,669 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is National Polytechnic College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $30,781 a year against a net price of $30,669, about 1.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is National Polytechnic College known for?
Mostly Allied Health Diagnostic, Allied Health Diagnostic. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do National Polytechnic College graduates earn?
About $30,781 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is National Polytechnic College accredited?
Yes. National Polytechnic College is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend National Polytechnic College?
516 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at National Polytechnic College?
78% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is National Polytechnic College a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is National Polytechnic College located?
National Polytechnic College is located in Lakewood, California.
What programs does National Polytechnic College offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Allied Health Diagnostic, Allied Health Diagnostic. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at National Polytechnic College?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.