Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 51/100

New England Institute of Technology

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

East Greenwich, Rhode Island

About New England Institute of Technology

Thinking about New England Institute of Technology, a college in Rhode Island where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

New England Institute of Technology is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in East Greenwich, Rhode Island. It enrolls 1,718 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
66.7%
Graduation
50.1%
Net Price
$36,483
Median Earnings (10yr)
$48,684
Enrollment
1,718
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 31
Value 4
Affordability 41
Selectivity 66

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

New England Institute of Technology admits 66.7% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
66.7%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether New England Institute of Technology is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 9.5 pts since 2019
63.2%201969.1%202068.5%202174.5%202272.7%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $36,483 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$36,483
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
43%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
71%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$37,275
Room & Board (on-campus)
$17,284
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,159
Books & Supplies
$2,004
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,400
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,334
Total Cost of Attendance
$48,543

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $32,208
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $31,358
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $36,414
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $39,100
  • Over $110,000
    $42,414

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,167
10% percentile
$5,502
25% percentile
$16,668
Median percentile
$20,734
75% percentile
$30,332
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,500 ↓ $4,168
No Pell $11,575 ↓ $5,093
Dependent students $12,000 ↓ $4,668
Independent students $14,125 ↓ $2,543
Female students $12,000 ↓ $4,668
Male students $12,000 ↓ $4,668
Pell recipients: 16.8% (2,808 students)No Pell: 15.6% (2,600 students)Dependent students: 16.2% (2,696 students)Independent students: 19.0% (3,173 students)Female students: 16.2% (2,696 students)Male students: 16.2% (2,696 students)Overall Median$16,668
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,334, less than completers ($16,668), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

50% of students who start here finish within six years, and 59% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
50%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
59%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,684 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,684
Earning > $25K
75%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$43,000$46,000$49,000$53,000$56,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$36,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$47,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$48,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,300, about 24% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.6 pts across 6 years
58.7%1yr64.6%3yr69.2%5yr72.3%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,718 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,718
Part-Time
8%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 53.4% 918
Hispanic 14.6% 251
Black 12.5% 215
Other 3.5% 60
Asian 3.0% 51
International 0.1% 1
White: 53.4% (918 students)Hispanic: 14.6% (251 students)Black: 12.5% (215 students)Other: 3.5% (60 students)Asian: 3.0% (51 students)International: 0.1% (1 students)Total1,718

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at New England Institute of Technology. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Housing
Partly residential 388 beds available
Adult Learners
31% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

New England Institute of Technology offers an extensive catalog of programs: 43 distinct programs across 11 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

10 Programs
6 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$327M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$65,792
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

109 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 16 15% $77,738
Associate Professors 29 27% $66,617
Assistant Professors 39 36% $66,172
Instructors 25 23% $56,596

Pros & Cons of New England Institute of Technology

No college is right for everyone. Here is where New England Institute of Technology is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • High net price compared to most US colleges
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans

Frequently Asked Questions about New England Institute of Technology

The questions families ask most about New England Institute of Technology, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is New England Institute of Technology hard to get into?
Admissions at New England Institute of Technology are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 66.7%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at New England Institute of Technology?
66.7% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does New England Institute of Technology cost?
Budget around $36,483 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is New England Institute of Technology worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,684 a year against a net price of $36,483, about 1.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is New England Institute of Technology known for?
Mostly Nursing, Vehicle Maintenance, Rehabilitation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do New England Institute of Technology graduates earn?
About $48,684 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is New England Institute of Technology accredited?
Yes. New England Institute of Technology is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend New England Institute of Technology?
1,718 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at New England Institute of Technology?
50% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is New England Institute of Technology a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is New England Institute of Technology located?
New England Institute of Technology is located in East Greenwich, Rhode Island.
What programs does New England Institute of Technology offer?
43 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Vehicle Maintenance, Rehabilitation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at New England Institute of Technology?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.