Public Associate Fair 54/100

Northshore Technical Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Lacombe, Louisiana

About Northshore Technical Community College

Thinking about Northshore Technical Community College, a college in Louisiana where more students graduate in Computer Science than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Northshore Technical Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Lacombe, Louisiana. It enrolls 2,505 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
20.5%
Net Price
$10,773
Median Earnings (10yr)
$29,734
Enrollment
2,505
Student : Faculty
34:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 31
Value 37
Affordability 35
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Northshore Technical Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,773 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,773
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
16%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$4,299
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,802
Books & Supplies
$1,353
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,167
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,553

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,584
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,300
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $12,568
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,072
  • Over $110,000
    $16,668

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,801
10% percentile
$2,750
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$5,500
75% percentile
$8,552
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,250 ↓ $3,750
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,500
Female students $8,250 ↓ $3,750
Male students $6,250 ↓ $5,750
Pell recipients: 19.1% (2,289 students)No Pell: 12.7% (1,526 students)Dependent students: 12.7% (1,526 students)Independent students: 22.0% (2,636 students)Female students: 19.1% (2,289 students)Male students: 14.5% (1,734 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,250, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

20% of students who start here finish within six years, and 58% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
20%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
58%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $29,734 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$29,734
Earning > $25K
50%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$27,000$27,500$28,500$29,500$30,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$2.8 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,505 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,505
Part-Time
33%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 50.1% 1,254
Black 39.0% 976
Hispanic 5.7% 143
Other 4.6% 114
Asian 0.5% 12
International 0.1% 2
White: 50.1% (1,254 students)Black: 39.0% (976 students)Hispanic: 5.7% (143 students)Other: 4.6% (114 students)Asian: 0.5% (12 students)International: 0.1% (2 students)Total2,505

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Northshore Technical Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Lacombe, Louisiana
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
14% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Northshore Technical Community College offers a varied set of programs: 33 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 34 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
34:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,698
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$100,000
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$49,063
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

80 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 1 1% $59,514
Associate Professors 5 6% $52,339
Assistant Professors 10 13% $54,617
Instructors 61 76% $48,048
No Rank 3 4% $42,256

Pros & Cons of Northshore Technical Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Northshore Technical Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Northshore Technical Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Northshore Technical Community College

The questions families ask most about Northshore Technical Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Northshore Technical Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Northshore Technical Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Northshore Technical Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Northshore Technical Community College cost?
Budget around $10,773 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northshore Technical Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $29,734 a year against a net price of $10,773, about 2.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Northshore Technical Community College known for?
Mostly Computer Systems Networking, Precision Metal Working, Electrical and Power Transmission Installers. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Northshore Technical Community College graduates earn?
About $29,734 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northshore Technical Community College accredited?
Yes. Northshore Technical Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Northshore Technical Community College?
2,505 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Northshore Technical Community College?
20% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Northshore Technical Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Northshore Technical Community College located?
Northshore Technical Community College is located in Lacombe, Louisiana.
What programs does Northshore Technical Community College offer?
33 different programs, most commonly Computer Systems Networking, Precision Metal Working, Electrical and Power Transmission Installers. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Northshore Technical Community College?
34 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.