Private For-Profit Associate Good 65/100

Northwest Career College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Las Vegas, Nevada

About Northwest Career College

Thinking about Northwest Career College, a college in Nevada where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Northwest Career College is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Las Vegas, Nevada. It enrolls 2,937 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
75.7%
Net Price
$16,470
Median Earnings (10yr)
$27,530
Enrollment
2,937
Student : Faculty
36:1

Accreditor Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
65/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 64
Value 21
Affordability 62
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Northwest Career College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $16,470 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$16,470
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
73%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
75%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $16,077
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $16,155
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $17,342
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $20,282
  • Over $110,000
    $21,826

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,782
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$9,500
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$9,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,314 ↓ $1,186
No Pell $7,485 ↓ $2,015
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Independent students $9,500 —
Female students $8,381 ↓ $1,119
Male students $7,330 ↓ $2,170
Pell recipients: 17.9% (1,698 students)No Pell: 16.1% (1,529 students)Dependent students: 11.8% (1,123 students)Independent students: 20.4% (1,940 students)Female students: 18.0% (1,712 students)Male students: 15.8% (1,497 students)Overall Median$9,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($9,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

76% of students who start here finish within six years, and 66% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
76%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
66%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $27,530 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$27,530
Earning > $25K
45%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$27,000$28,000$30,000$31,000$33,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↓ 2.5 pts across 6 years
42.3%1yr46.6%3yr42.9%5yr39.8%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 40% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,937 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,937
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 35.1% 1,030
Black 33.3% 977
White 13.1% 384
Other 12.1% 356
Asian 6.2% 181
Hispanic: 35.1% (1,030 students)Black: 33.3% (977 students)White: 13.1% (384 students)Other: 12.1% (356 students)Asian: 6.2% (181 students)Total2,937

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Northwest Career College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Las Vegas, Nevada
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
58% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Legal Studies graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Northwest Career College offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 36 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
36:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$42,851
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

52 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 52 100% $42,851

Pros & Cons of Northwest Career College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Northwest Career College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Northwest Career College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Northwest Career College

The questions families ask most about Northwest Career College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Northwest Career College hard to get into?
Not especially. Northwest Career College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Northwest Career College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Northwest Career College cost?
Budget around $16,470 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northwest Career College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $27,530 a year against a net price of $16,470, about 1.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Northwest Career College known for?
Mostly Medical Assisting, Clinical/Medical Laboratory, Health Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Northwest Career College graduates earn?
About $27,530 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northwest Career College accredited?
Yes. Northwest Career College is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Northwest Career College?
2,937 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Northwest Career College?
76% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Northwest Career College a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Northwest Career College located?
Northwest Career College is located in Las Vegas, Nevada.
What programs does Northwest Career College offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Medical Assisting, Clinical/Medical Laboratory, Health Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Northwest Career College?
36 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.