Ohio State University-Newark Campus is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Newark, Ohio. It enrolls 2,396 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
58/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes18
Value65
Affordability47
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Ohio State University-Newark Campus does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,767 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$9,488
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$36,266
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,358
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,232
Books & Supplies
$1,030
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,930
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,186
Total Cost of Attendance
$22,063
Application fee: $60 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$12,280
$30,001 – $48,000
$12,122
$48,001 – $75,000
$12,858
$75,001 – $110,000
$16,732
Over $110,000
$20,979
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$3,50010%percentile
$6,50025%percentile
$19,976Medianpercentile
$26,35075%percentile
$31,70090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $14,500
↓ $5,476
No Pell $14,500
↓ $5,476
Dependent students $14,500
↓ $5,476
Independent students $15,000
↓ $4,976
Female students $14,500
↓ $5,476
Male students $14,500
↓ $5,476
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,000, less than completers ($19,976), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
66% of students who start here finish within six years, and 26% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
66%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
26%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $60,409 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$60,409
Earning > $25K
84%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$47,000
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$60,000
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$49,900
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$50,300
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$57,700
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $13,000, about 22% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
13.2 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 84% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,396 students, a mid-sized community.
Total Enrolled
2,396
Part-Time
13%
First-Generation
26%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 52.5%1,258
Black 23.9%573
Hispanic 7.2%173
Asian 6.7%161
Other 6.1%145
International 0.2%5
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Ohio State University-Newark Campus. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Ohio State University-Newark Campus offers
a focused set of programs:
8 distinct programs across
7 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 28 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
28:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,380
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$5.3M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$100,407
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
47 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
10
21%
$120,538
Associate Professors
28
60%
$99,200
Assistant Professors
9
19%
$81,798
Pros & Cons of Ohio State University-Newark Campus
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Ohio State University-Newark Campus is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Frequently Asked Questions about Ohio State University-Newark Campus
The questions families ask most about Ohio State University-Newark Campus, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does Ohio State University-Newark Campus cost?
Budget around $14,767 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ohio State University-Newark Campus worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $60,409 a year against a net price of $14,767, about 4.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Ohio State University-Newark Campus known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Educational Administration, Experimental Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Ohio State University-Newark Campus graduates earn?
About $60,409 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ohio State University-Newark Campus accredited?
Yes. Ohio State University-Newark Campus is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Ohio State University-Newark Campus?
2,396 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Ohio State University-Newark Campus?
66% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Ohio State University-Newark Campus a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Ohio State University-Newark Campus located?
Ohio State University-Newark Campus is located in Newark, Ohio.
What programs does Ohio State University-Newark Campus offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Educational Administration, Experimental Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Ohio State University-Newark Campus?
28 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Ohio
Other colleges in Ohio share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management
Liberal Arts
Nursing
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.