Public Bachelor's Good 68/100

Olympic College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Bremerton, Washington

About Olympic College

Thinking about Olympic College, a college in Washington where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Olympic College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Bremerton, Washington. It enrolls 3,826 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
24.3%
Net Price
$7,172
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,169
Enrollment
3,826
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
68/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 35
Value 83
Affordability 47
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Olympic College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,172 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$7,172
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
19%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
6%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,197
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$9,740
Room & Board (on-campus)
$10,500
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,800
Books & Supplies
$768
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,300
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,300
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,585

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,214
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $5,852
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,923
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $9,468
  • Over $110,000
    $13,478

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,855
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$14,579
75% percentile
$23,170
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,888 ↓ $3,112
No Pell $6,335 ↓ $5,665
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,500
Female students $8,908 ↓ $3,092
Male students $6,884 ↓ $5,116
Pell recipients: 19.3% (2,318 students)No Pell: 13.8% (1,652 students)Dependent students: 12.0% (1,434 students)Independent students: 20.6% (2,477 students)Female students: 19.4% (2,323 students)Male students: 15.0% (1,795 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,394, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

24% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
24%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,169 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,169
Earning > $25K
67%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$36,000$39,000$42,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$46,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$43,600

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$44,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $13,100, about 28% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 21.8 pts across 6 years
56.6%1yr61.6%3yr66.8%5yr78.5%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 78% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,826 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 42% are the first in their family to go to college, and 43% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,826
Part-Time
43%
First-Generation
42%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 44.6% 1,706
Hispanic 15.0% 572
Other 13.4% 512
Asian 6.4% 243
Black 4.4% 169
International 1.4% 52
White: 44.6% (1,706 students)Hispanic: 15.0% (572 students)Other: 13.4% (512 students)Asian: 6.4% (243 students)Black: 4.4% (169 students)International: 1.4% (52 students)Total3,826

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Olympic College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Bremerton, Washington
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 88 beds
Adult Learners
41% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Olympic College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 54 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
7 Programs
9 Programs
12 Programs
6 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,148
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$19M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$85,216
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

133 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 133 100% $85,216

Pros & Cons of Olympic College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Olympic College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Olympic College is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Olympic College

The questions families ask most about Olympic College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Olympic College cost?
Budget around $7,172 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Olympic College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $43,169 a year against a net price of $7,172, about 6.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Olympic College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Industrial Production Tech, Industrial Production Tech. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Olympic College graduates earn?
About $43,169 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Olympic College accredited?
Yes. Olympic College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Olympic College?
3,826 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Olympic College?
24% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Olympic College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Olympic College located?
Olympic College is located in Bremerton, Washington.
What programs does Olympic College offer?
54 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Industrial Production Tech, Industrial Production Tech. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Olympic College?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.