Public Associate Fair 52/100

Oregon Coast Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Newport, Oregon

About Oregon Coast Community College

Thinking about Oregon Coast Community College, a college in Oregon where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Oregon Coast Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Newport, Oregon. It enrolls 376 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
—
Net Price
$7,666
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
376
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 18
Value —
Affordability 55
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Oregon Coast Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,666 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$7,666
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
33%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
19%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$5,544
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,723
Books & Supplies
$765
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,237
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,650
What this means: 33% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

43% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
43%
Returning for their second year

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 376 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 47% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
376
Part-Time
47%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 59.6% 224
Hispanic 20.0% 75
Other 7.2% 27
Black 0.5% 2
Asian 0.5% 2
White: 59.6% (224 students)Hispanic: 20.0% (75 students)Other: 7.2% (27 students)Black: 0.5% (2 students)Asian: 0.5% (2 students)Total376

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Oregon Coast Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Newport, Oregon
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
40% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Oregon Coast Community College offers a focused set of programs: 5 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$11,096
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$454,834
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$59,315
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

11 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 11 100% $59,315

Pros & Cons of Oregon Coast Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Oregon Coast Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Oregon Coast Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Oregon Coast Community College

The questions families ask most about Oregon Coast Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Oregon Coast Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Oregon Coast Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Oregon Coast Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Oregon Coast Community College cost?
Budget around $7,666 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Oregon Coast Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Oregon Coast Community College accredited?
Yes. Oregon Coast Community College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Oregon Coast Community College?
376 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Oregon Coast Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Oregon Coast Community College located?
Oregon Coast Community College is located in Newport, Oregon.
What programs does Oregon Coast Community College offer?
5 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Oregon Coast Community College?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.