Public Graduate Good 66/100

Pennsylvania College of Technology

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Williamsport, Pennsylvania

About Pennsylvania College of Technology

Thinking about Pennsylvania College of Technology, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Pennsylvania College of Technology is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 4,464 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
32.8%
Net Price
$25,110
Median Earnings (10yr)
$52,567
Enrollment
4,464
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
66/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 77
Value 30
Affordability 30
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Pennsylvania College of Technology does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $25,110 a year on average, it sits in line with what public colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$25,110
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
33%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
60%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$18,240
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$25,980
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,818
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,818
Books & Supplies
$1,400
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,950
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,950
Total Cost of Attendance
$33,192

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $20,065
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $19,090
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,546
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $27,465
  • Over $110,000
    $30,533

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$7,475
25% percentile
$23,961
Median percentile
$26,500
75% percentile
$35,189
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $17,500 ↓ $6,461
No Pell $13,000 ↓ $10,961
Dependent students $14,990 ↓ $8,971
Independent students $20,000 ↓ $3,961
Female students $17,500 ↓ $6,461
Male students $14,250 ↓ $9,711
Pell recipients: 18.0% (4,312 students)No Pell: 13.4% (3,203 students)Dependent students: 15.4% (3,694 students)Independent students: 20.6% (4,928 students)Female students: 18.0% (4,312 students)Male students: 14.7% (3,511 students)Overall Median$23,961
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($23,961), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

33% of students who start here finish within six years, and 78% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
33%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
78%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $52,567 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$52,567
Earning > $25K
79%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$47,000$49,000$50,000$52,000$53,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$36,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$50,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$39,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$46,200

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,900

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $14,400, about 28% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 8.0 pts across 6 years
80.7%1yr83.9%3yr85.4%5yr88.7%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 89% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 4,464 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 36% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
4,464
Part-Time
17%
First-Generation
36%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 84.3% 3,763
Hispanic 5.9% 262
Black 4.7% 210
Other 2.5% 111
Asian 1.3% 58
International 0.0% 1
White: 84.3% (3,763 students)Hispanic: 5.9% (262 students)Black: 4.7% (210 students)Other: 2.5% (111 students)Asian: 1.3% (58 students)International: 0.0% (1 students)Total4,464

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Pennsylvania College of Technology. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Housing
Partly residential 1,710 beds available
Adult Learners
15% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Pennsylvania College of Technology offers an extensive catalog of programs: 67 distinct programs across 19 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

13 Programs
12 Programs
8 Programs
5 Programs
2 Programs
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$119M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$88,882
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

265 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 10 4% $115,908
Associate Professors 43 16% $104,987
Assistant Professors 80 30% $93,253
Instructors 122 46% $80,220
Lecturers 10 4% $62,256

Pros & Cons of Pennsylvania College of Technology

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Pennsylvania College of Technology is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years

Frequently Asked Questions about Pennsylvania College of Technology

The questions families ask most about Pennsylvania College of Technology, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Pennsylvania College of Technology cost?
Budget around $25,110 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Pennsylvania College of Technology worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $52,567 a year against a net price of $25,110, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Pennsylvania College of Technology known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Precision Metal Working, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Pennsylvania College of Technology graduates earn?
About $52,567 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Pennsylvania College of Technology accredited?
Yes. Pennsylvania College of Technology is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Pennsylvania College of Technology?
4,464 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Pennsylvania College of Technology?
33% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Pennsylvania College of Technology a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Pennsylvania College of Technology located?
Pennsylvania College of Technology is located in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Pennsylvania College of Technology offer?
67 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Precision Metal Working, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Pennsylvania College of Technology?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.