Public Associate Fair 51/100

Phoenix College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Phoenix, Arizona

About Phoenix College

Thinking about Phoenix College, a college in Arizona where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Phoenix College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Phoenix, Arizona. It enrolls 8,555 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
8.8%
Net Price
$12,055
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,870
Enrollment
8,555
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 9
Value 53
Affordability 40
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Phoenix College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,055 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,055
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
27%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
8%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,358
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$8,958
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,872
Books & Supplies
$1,104
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$11,304
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,594

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $11,172
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $11,939
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $13,546
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,509
  • Over $110,000
    $18,594

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$3,245
25% percentile
$6,750
Median percentile
$14,339
75% percentile
$26,064
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,500 ↓ $1,250
No Pell $4,371 ↓ $2,379
Dependent students $4,500 ↓ $2,250
Independent students $5,550 ↓ $1,200
Female students $5,250 ↓ $1,500
Male students $4,887 ↓ $1,863
Pell recipients: 18.3% (1,235 students)No Pell: 14.5% (982 students)Dependent students: 15.0% (1,011 students)Independent students: 18.5% (1,246 students)Female students: 17.5% (1,179 students)Male students: 16.3% (1,097 students)Overall Median$6,750
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, close to what completers borrow ($6,750) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

9% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
9%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,870 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,870
Earning > $25K
66%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$36,000$37,000$39,000$40,000$41,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$34,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$38,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$40,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$42,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 26.9 pts across 6 years
42.5%1yr51.2%3yr64%5yr69.4%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 69% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 8,555 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 62% are the first in their family to go to college, and 72% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
8,555
Part-Time
72%
First-Generation
62%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 58.1% 4,970
White 21.7% 1,856
Black 8.6% 736
Other 5.7% 488
Asian 3.0% 259
International 1.1% 92
Hispanic: 58.1% (4,970 students)White: 21.7% (1,856 students)Black: 8.6% (736 students)Other: 5.7% (488 students)Asian: 3.0% (259 students)International: 1.1% (92 students)Total8,555

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Phoenix College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Phoenix, Arizona
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
37% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Visual & Performing Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Phoenix College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 76 distinct programs across 24 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

17 Programs
8 Programs
1 Program
8 Programs
9 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,710
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$88,499
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

147 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 147 100% $88,499

Pros & Cons of Phoenix College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Phoenix College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Phoenix College is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Phoenix College

The questions families ask most about Phoenix College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Phoenix College cost?
Budget around $12,055 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Phoenix College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,870 a year against a net price of $12,055, about 3.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Phoenix College known for?
Mostly Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Phoenix College graduates earn?
About $40,870 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Phoenix College accredited?
Yes. Phoenix College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Phoenix College?
8,555 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Phoenix College?
9% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Phoenix College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Phoenix College located?
Phoenix College is located in Phoenix, Arizona.
What programs does Phoenix College offer?
76 different programs, most commonly Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Phoenix College?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.