Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc is a private nonprofit institution offering associate degrees based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 351 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAmerican Board of Funeral Service Education Committee on Accreditation
Academic CalendarDiffers by Program
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
74/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes89
Value—
Affordability16
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.
Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
23%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
46%
Borrowing to attend
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$3,61410%percentile
$7,81325%percentile
$19,295Medianpercentile
$22,93775%percentile
$27,68790%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $14,500
↓ $4,795
No Pell $15,729
↓ $3,566
Dependent students $9,969
↓ $9,326
Independent students $17,313
↓ $1,982
Female students $12,000
↓ $7,295
Male students $20,708
↑ $1,413
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($19,295), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
72% of students who start here finish within six years, and 78% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
72%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
78%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $53,524 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$53,524
Earning > $25K
72%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
22.2 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 351 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 75% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
351
Part-Time
75%
First-Generation
—
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 85.2%299
Black 9.4%33
Hispanic 2.9%10
Asian 1.7%6
Other 0.9%3
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
56%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Differs by Programscheduling structure
What You Can Study
Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc offers
a focused set of programs:
2 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$26M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$37,069
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Pros & Cons of Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for:
Based on the data, Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc
The questions families ask most about Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc hard to get into?
Not especially. Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
What is Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc known for?
Mostly Funeral Service and Mortuary Science, Funeral Service and Mortuary Science. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc graduates earn?
About $53,524 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc accredited?
Yes. Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc is accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education Committee on Accreditation.
How many students attend Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc?
351 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc?
72% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc located?
Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc is located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Funeral Service and Mortuary Science, Funeral Service and Mortuary Science. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science Inc?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Pennsylvania
Other colleges in Pennsylvania share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Practical Nursing
Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.