Private For-Profit Bachelor's Good 56/100

Professional Skills Institute

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Maumee, Ohio

About Professional Skills Institute

Thinking about Professional Skills Institute, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Professional Skills Institute is a private for-profit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Maumee, Ohio. It enrolls 395 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
83.1%
Graduation
72.1%
Net Price
$20,721
Median Earnings (10yr)
$47,765
Enrollment
395
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
56/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 21
Value 33
Affordability 73
Selectivity 36

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Professional Skills Institute admits 83.1% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
83.1%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Professional Skills Institute is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 9.4 pts since 2019
80.9%201993.1%202062.2%202156.2%202271.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,721 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,721
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
73%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
86%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$15,884
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,384
Books & Supplies
$1,307
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$23,688
Total Cost of Attendance
$27,427

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $19,942
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $21,180
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $23,211
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $24,085
  • Over $110,000
    $27,427

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,167
10% percentile
$6,334
25% percentile
$17,813
Median percentile
$20,000
75% percentile
$24,594
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,667 ↓ $5,146
No Pell $18,500 ↑ $687
Dependent students $12,000 ↓ $5,813
Independent students $12,798 ↓ $5,015
Female students $12,667 ↓ $5,146
Male students $15,917 ↓ $1,896
Pell recipients: 15.0% (2,669 students)No Pell: 21.9% (3,898 students)Dependent students: 14.2% (2,528 students)Independent students: 15.1% (2,696 students)Female students: 15.0% (2,669 students)Male students: 18.8% (3,353 students)Overall Median$17,813
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,333, less than completers ($17,813), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

72% of students who start here finish within six years, and 67% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
72%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $47,765 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$47,765
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$43,000$45,000$47,000$49,000$52,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 1.2 pts across 6 years
39.4%1yr45.1%3yr45.5%5yr40.6%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 41% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 395 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 49% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
395
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
49%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 60.5% 239
White 27.9% 110
Other 6.1% 24
Hispanic 3.5% 14
Asian 0.3% 1
Black: 60.5% (239 students)White: 27.9% (110 students)Other: 6.1% (24 students)Hispanic: 3.5% (14 students)Asian: 0.3% (1 students)Total395

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Professional Skills Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Maumee, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
84% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Professional Skills Institute offers a focused set of programs: 4 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$51,598
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

8 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 8 100% $51,598

Pros & Cons of Professional Skills Institute

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Professional Skills Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Professional Skills Institute is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Professional Skills Institute

The questions families ask most about Professional Skills Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Professional Skills Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Professional Skills Institute admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 83.1%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Professional Skills Institute?
83.1% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Professional Skills Institute cost?
Budget around $20,721 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Professional Skills Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $47,765 a year against a net price of $20,721, about 2.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Professional Skills Institute known for?
Mostly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Professional Skills Institute graduates earn?
About $47,765 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Professional Skills Institute accredited?
Yes. Professional Skills Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Professional Skills Institute?
395 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Professional Skills Institute?
72% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Professional Skills Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Professional Skills Institute located?
Professional Skills Institute is located in Maumee, Ohio.
What programs does Professional Skills Institute offer?
4 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Professional Skills Institute?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.