Rabbi Jacob Joseph School is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Edison, New Jersey. It enrolls 115 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAssociation of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
61/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes47
Value—
Affordability60
Selectivity17
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Rabbi Jacob Joseph School admits 91.7% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
91.7%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Rabbi Jacob Joseph School is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Stable ↑
3.7 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,389 a year on average, it sits well below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$12,700
Room & Board (on-campus)
$3,600
Books & Supplies
$200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,136
Total Cost of Attendance
$22,600
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$8,913
$48,001 – $75,000
$7,587
$75,001 – $110,000
$10,547
What this means:
23% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.
Graduation Rate & Retention
94% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
94%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 115 students, an intimate, close-knit community.
Total Enrolled
115
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
—
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 96.5%111
International 3.5%4
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Rabbi Jacob Joseph School. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large SuburbEdison, New Jersey
Housing
Strongly residential115 beds for 115 students
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
What You Can Study
Rabbi Jacob Joseph School offers
a focused set of programs:
1 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$8.1M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$60,000
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Pros & Cons of Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Rabbi Jacob Joseph School is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
No graduate programs offered at this institution
Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for:
Based on the data, Rabbi Jacob Joseph School is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
The questions families ask most about Rabbi Jacob Joseph School, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Rabbi Jacob Joseph School hard to get into?
Not especially. Rabbi Jacob Joseph School admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 91.7%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Rabbi Jacob Joseph School?
91.7% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Rabbi Jacob Joseph School cost?
Budget around $8,389 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Rabbi Jacob Joseph School known for?
Mostly Religion/Religious Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Rabbi Jacob Joseph School accredited?
Yes. Rabbi Jacob Joseph School is accredited by the Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools.
How many students attend Rabbi Jacob Joseph School?
115 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Rabbi Jacob Joseph School a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Rabbi Jacob Joseph School located?
Rabbi Jacob Joseph School is located in Edison, New Jersey.
What programs does Rabbi Jacob Joseph School offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Religion/Religious Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Rabbi Jacob Joseph School?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in New Jersey
Other colleges in New Jersey share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Visual & Performing Arts
Business Administration
Psychology
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.