Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Strong 77/100

Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Brooklyn, New York

About Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel

Thinking about Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel, a college in New York where more students graduate in Philosophy & Religion than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Brooklyn, New York. It enrolls 114 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$6,223
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
114
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
77/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 68
Value —
Affordability 64
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,223 a year on average, it sits well below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,223
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
36%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$9,000
Room & Board (on-campus)
$4,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$3,000
Books & Supplies
$350
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,500
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,850

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $2,790
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $3,440
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,191
What this means: 36% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

90% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
90%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 114 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
114
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 100.0% 114
White: 100.0% (114 students)Total114

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Brooklyn, New York
Housing
Mostly residential 60 beds on campus
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$1.8M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$31,980
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong first-year retention
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel

The questions families ask most about Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel cost?
Budget around $6,223 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel known for?
Mostly Religion/Religious Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel accredited?
Yes. Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel is accredited by the Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools.
How many students attend Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel?
114 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel located?
Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel is located in Brooklyn, New York.
What programs does Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Religion/Religious Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Rabbinical College Ohr Yisroel?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.