Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 64/100

Ranken Technical College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Saint Louis, Missouri

About Ranken Technical College

Thinking about Ranken Technical College, a college in Missouri where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Ranken Technical College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Saint Louis, Missouri. It enrolls 1,780 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
55.9%
Net Price
$18,795
Median Earnings (10yr)
$55,955
Enrollment
1,780
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
64/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 51
Value 45
Affordability 46
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Ranken Technical College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $18,795 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$18,795
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
47%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
59%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$18,008
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,550
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,250
Books & Supplies
$2,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,062
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$9,238
Total Cost of Attendance
$29,450

Application fee: $95 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $16,849
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,346
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $18,942
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $19,972
  • Over $110,000
    $25,260

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,200
10% percentile
$5,990
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$16,000
75% percentile
$20,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 ↓ $2,500
No Pell $10,638 ↓ $1,362
Dependent students $9,500 ↓ $2,500
Independent students $10,450 ↓ $1,550
Female students $10,000 ↓ $2,000
Male students $9,563 ↓ $2,437
Pell recipients: 15.9% (1,911 students)No Pell: 17.8% (2,140 students)Dependent students: 15.9% (1,911 students)Independent students: 17.5% (2,102 students)Female students: 16.8% (2,012 students)Male students: 16.0% (1,924 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

56% of students who start here finish within six years, and 50% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
56%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
50%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $55,955 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$55,955
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$51,000$52,000$54,000$55,000$57,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$52,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$39,800

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$52,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$56,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $18,700, about 36% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 14.0 pts across 6 years
62.1%1yr64.6%3yr73%5yr76.1%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,780 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 39% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,780
Part-Time
26%
First-Generation
39%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 60.8% 1,083
Black 23.4% 417
Other 5.3% 95
Hispanic 3.9% 69
Asian 1.6% 29
International 0.1% 2
White: 60.8% (1,083 students)Black: 23.4% (417 students)Other: 5.3% (95 students)Hispanic: 3.9% (69 students)Asian: 1.6% (29 students)International: 0.1% (2 students)Total1,780

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Ranken Technical College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Saint Louis, Missouri
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 188 beds
Adult Learners
29% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Ranken Technical College offers a varied set of programs: 18 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$116M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$52,627
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

105 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 105 100% $52,627

Pros & Cons of Ranken Technical College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Ranken Technical College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution

Frequently Asked Questions about Ranken Technical College

The questions families ask most about Ranken Technical College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Ranken Technical College cost?
Budget around $18,795 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ranken Technical College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $55,955 a year against a net price of $18,795, about 3.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Ranken Technical College known for?
Mostly Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians, Computer Engineering Tech, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Ranken Technical College graduates earn?
About $55,955 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ranken Technical College accredited?
Yes. Ranken Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Ranken Technical College?
1,780 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Ranken Technical College?
56% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Ranken Technical College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Ranken Technical College located?
Ranken Technical College is located in Saint Louis, Missouri.
What programs does Ranken Technical College offer?
18 different programs, most commonly Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians, Computer Engineering Tech, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Ranken Technical College?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.