Private Nonprofit Graduate Strong 76/100

Reach University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Oakland, California

About Reach University

Thinking about Reach University, a college in California where more students graduate in Education than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Reach University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Oakland, California. It enrolls 1,946 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
100%
Graduation
—
Net Price
$22,423
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
1,946
Student : Faculty
37:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
76/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 72
Value —
Affordability 53
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Reach University admits 100% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
100%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,423 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,423
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
63%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$12,374
Room & Board (off-campus)
$17,146
Books & Supplies
$1,250
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,644
Total Cost of Attendance
$32,536

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $22,997
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $22,461
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,905
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $20,874
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 63% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

77% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
77%
Returning for their second year

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,946 students, a mid-sized community.

Total Enrolled
1,946
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 53.3% 1,038
Black 28.4% 552
Hispanic 11.6% 226
Other 3.2% 62
Asian 0.6% 11
International 0.3% 5
White: 53.3% (1,038 students)Black: 28.4% (552 students)Hispanic: 11.6% (226 students)Other: 3.2% (62 students)Asian: 0.6% (11 students)International: 0.3% (5 students)Total1,946

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Reach University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Oakland, California
Housing
Commuter campus Online-only, no physical campus
Adult Learners
92% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Online-only institution

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Reach University offers a focused set of programs: 5 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 37 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
37:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$4.1M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$75,844
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

4 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 4 100% $75,844

Pros & Cons of Reach University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Reach University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Reach University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Reach University

The questions families ask most about Reach University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Reach University hard to get into?
Not especially. Reach University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 100%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Reach University?
100% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Reach University cost?
Budget around $22,423 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Reach University known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Teacher Education (K-12), Educational Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Reach University accredited?
Yes. Reach University is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
How many students attend Reach University?
1,946 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Reach University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Reach University located?
Reach University is located in Oakland, California.
What programs does Reach University offer?
5 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Teacher Education (K-12), Educational Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Reach University?
37 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.