Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 67/100

Russell Sage College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Troy, New York

About Russell Sage College

Thinking about Russell Sage College, a college in New York where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Russell Sage College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Troy, New York. It enrolls 1,244 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
53.3%
Graduation
67.1%
Net Price
$22,917
Median Earnings (10yr)
$58,316
Enrollment
1,244
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
67/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 48
Value 44
Affordability 54
Selectivity 81

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Russell Sage College admits 53.3% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
53.3%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Russell Sage College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 8.8 pts since 2019
85%201974.3%202073.1%202173.6%202276.2%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,917 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,917
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
42%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
78%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$38,164
Room & Board (on-campus)
$14,048
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,161
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,575
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,325
Total Cost of Attendance
$50,607

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $6,662
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $41,141
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,326
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $24,302
  • Over $110,000
    $26,526

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,000
10% percentile
$10,362
25% percentile
$22,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$32,313
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $19,000 ↓ $3,000
No Pell $16,000 ↓ $6,000
Dependent students $16,750 ↓ $5,250
Independent students $22,000 —
Female students $18,500 ↓ $3,500
Male students $16,625 ↓ $5,375
Pell recipients: 17.5% (3,839 students)No Pell: 14.7% (3,233 students)Dependent students: 15.4% (3,385 students)Independent students: 20.2% (4,445 students)Female students: 17.0% (3,738 students)Male students: 15.3% (3,359 students)Overall Median$22,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,001, less than completers ($22,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

67% of students who start here finish within six years, and 76% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
67%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $58,316 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$58,316
Earning > $25K
82%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$50,000$52,000$55,000$57,000$59,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$46,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$51,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$44,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$47,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$48,900

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $5,600, about 11% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.8 pts across 6 years
65.3%1yr70.9%3yr79.8%5yr82.2%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 82% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,244 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 38% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,244
Part-Time
2%
First-Generation
38%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 57.2% 712
Hispanic 13.0% 162
Black 11.7% 145
Asian 5.0% 62
Other 3.8% 47
International 0.6% 8
White: 57.2% (712 students)Hispanic: 13.0% (162 students)Black: 11.7% (145 students)Asian: 5.0% (62 students)Other: 3.8% (47 students)International: 0.6% (8 students)Total1,244

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Russell Sage College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Troy, New York
Housing
Mostly residential 715 beds on campus
Adult Learners
10% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Psychology graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Russell Sage College offers a varied set of programs: 35 distinct programs across 12 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
3 Programs
3 Programs
4 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$79M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,274
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

109 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 17 16% $66,472
Associate Professors 31 28% $61,857
Assistant Professors 54 50% $54,586
Instructors 3 3% $50,055
Lecturers 4 4% $51,625

Pros & Cons of Russell Sage College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Russell Sage College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Russell Sage College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Russell Sage College

The questions families ask most about Russell Sage College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Russell Sage College hard to get into?
Admissions at Russell Sage College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 53.3%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Russell Sage College?
53.3% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Russell Sage College cost?
Budget around $22,917 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Russell Sage College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $58,316 a year against a net price of $22,917, about 2.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Russell Sage College known for?
Mostly Psychology, Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Russell Sage College graduates earn?
About $58,316 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Russell Sage College accredited?
Yes. Russell Sage College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Russell Sage College?
1,244 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Russell Sage College?
67% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Russell Sage College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Russell Sage College located?
Russell Sage College is located in Troy, New York.
What programs does Russell Sage College offer?
35 different programs, most commonly Psychology, Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Russell Sage College?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.