Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Fair 55/100

Saint Joseph Seminary College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

St. Benedict, Louisiana

About Saint Joseph Seminary College

Thinking about Saint Joseph Seminary College, a college in Louisiana where more students graduate in Philosophy & Religion than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Saint Joseph Seminary College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in St. Benedict, Louisiana. It enrolls 93 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$45,460
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,366
Enrollment
93
Student : Faculty
5:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
55/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 75
Value 2
Affordability 3
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Saint Joseph Seminary College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $45,460 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$45,460
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
10%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
3%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$28,025
Room & Board (on-campus)
$16,780
Books & Supplies
$1,300
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,167
Total Cost of Attendance
$49,944

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $42,549
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $46,799
  • Over $110,000
    $49,944
What this means: 10% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

80% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
80%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,366 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,366
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$22,000$27,000$31,000$36,000$41,0006 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$0.8 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 93 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
93
Part-Time
1%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 59.1% 55
Hispanic 22.6% 21
Asian 5.4% 5
Other 5.4% 5
International 2.2% 2
Black 1.1% 1
White: 59.1% (55 students)Hispanic: 22.6% (21 students)Asian: 5.4% (5 students)Other: 5.4% (5 students)International: 2.2% (2 students)Black: 1.1% (1 students)Total93

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Saint Joseph Seminary College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe St. Benedict, Louisiana
Housing
Strongly residential 150 beds for 93 students
Adult Learners
21% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Men's college
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

Saint Joseph Seminary College offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 5 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
5:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$28M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$33,188
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

18 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 18 100% $33,188

Pros & Cons of Saint Joseph Seminary College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Saint Joseph Seminary College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • High net price compared to most US colleges
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Saint Joseph Seminary College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Saint Joseph Seminary College

The questions families ask most about Saint Joseph Seminary College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Saint Joseph Seminary College cost?
Budget around $45,460 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Saint Joseph Seminary College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,366 a year against a net price of $45,460, about 0.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Saint Joseph Seminary College known for?
Mostly Philosophy and Religious Studies, Religion/Religious Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Saint Joseph Seminary College graduates earn?
About $38,366 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Saint Joseph Seminary College accredited?
Yes. Saint Joseph Seminary College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Saint Joseph Seminary College?
93 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Saint Joseph Seminary College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Saint Joseph Seminary College located?
Saint Joseph Seminary College is located in St. Benedict, Louisiana.
What programs does Saint Joseph Seminary College offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Philosophy and Religious Studies, Religion/Religious Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Saint Joseph Seminary College?
5 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.