Private For-Profit Graduate Good 57/100

Salem University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Salem, West Virginia

About Salem University

Thinking about Salem University, a college in West Virginia where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Salem University is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Salem, West Virginia. It enrolls 892 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
20.4%
Net Price
$12,303
Median Earnings (10yr)
$34,642
Enrollment
892
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Other Academic Year

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
57/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 22
Value 43
Affordability 71
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Salem University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,303 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,303
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
75%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
72%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$11,900
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,400
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,400
Books & Supplies
$960
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,650

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,886
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,753
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $11,154
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $14,107
  • Over $110,000
    $14,716

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$24,694
Median percentile
$16,226
75% percentile
$33,700
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,296 ↓ $17,398
No Pell $10,686 ↓ $14,008
Dependent students $10,156 ↓ $14,538
Independent students $6,267 ↓ $18,427
Female students $9,500 ↓ $15,194
Male students $5,500 ↓ $19,194
Pell recipients: 14.8% (3,647 students)No Pell: 21.6% (5,341 students)Dependent students: 20.6% (5,076 students)Independent students: 12.7% (3,132 students)Female students: 19.2% (4,748 students)Male students: 11.1% (2,749 students)Overall Median$24,694
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,293, less than completers ($24,694), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

20% of students who start here finish within six years, and 53% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
20%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
53%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,642 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,642
Earning > $25K
55%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$32,000$34,000$35,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$32,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 41.2 pts across 6 years
34.3%1yr50%3yr61.5%5yr75.5%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 892 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 54% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
892
Part-Time
8%
First-Generation
54%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 60.3% 538
Black 12.3% 110
International 10.3% 92
Hispanic 4.3% 38
Other 0.7% 6
Asian 0.6% 5
White: 60.3% (538 students)Black: 12.3% (110 students)International: 10.3% (92 students)Hispanic: 4.3% (38 students)Other: 0.7% (6 students)Asian: 0.6% (5 students)Total892

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Salem University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Salem, West Virginia
Housing
Mostly residential 367 beds on campus
Adult Learners
49% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Other Academic Year scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Salem University offers a varied set of programs: 19 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
3 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$30,753
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

27 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 10 37% $48,426
Associate Professors 13 48% $24,059
Assistant Professors 4 15% $8,324

Pros & Cons of Salem University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Salem University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Salem University is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Salem University

The questions families ask most about Salem University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Salem University cost?
Budget around $12,303 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Salem University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,642 a year against a net price of $12,303, about 2.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Salem University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Business Administration, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Salem University graduates earn?
About $34,642 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Salem University accredited?
Yes. Salem University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Salem University?
892 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Salem University?
20% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Salem University a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Salem University located?
Salem University is located in Salem, West Virginia.
What programs does Salem University offer?
19 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Business Administration, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Salem University?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.