Private For-Profit Associate Strong 70/100

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Houston, Texas

About School of Automotive Machinists & Technology

Thinking about School of Automotive Machinists & Technology, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Houston, Texas. It enrolls 88 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
68.6%
Graduation
—
Net Price
$28,242
Median Earnings (10yr)
$57,529
Enrollment
88
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
70/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 89
Value 28
Affordability 34
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology admits 68.6% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
68.6%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 22.9 pts since 2019
81.5%201973.3%202093.3%202177%202258.6%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $28,242 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$28,242
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
41%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
24%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $26,167
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $27,178
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $27,770
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $32,175
  • Over $110,000
    $33,348

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,500
10% percentile
$6,729
25% percentile
$9,500
Median percentile
$24,125
75% percentile
$28,479
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,500 —
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Dependent students $7,761 ↓ $1,739
Independent students $9,500 —
Pell recipients: 29.4% (2,797 students)No Pell: 17.0% (1,620 students)Dependent students: 24.1% (2,285 students)Independent students: 29.4% (2,797 students)Overall Median$9,500
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 41% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

78% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
78%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $57,529 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$57,529
Earning > $25K
79%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$46,000$49,000$53,000$56,000$59,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$2.0 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 88 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 49% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
88
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
49%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 47.7% 42
Hispanic 29.6% 26
Black 12.5% 11
Other 6.8% 6
Asian 1.1% 1
White: 47.7% (42 students)Hispanic: 29.6% (26 students)Black: 12.5% (11 students)Other: 6.8% (6 students)Asian: 1.1% (1 students)Total88

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at School of Automotive Machinists & Technology. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Houston, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
30% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

School of Automotive Machinists & Technology offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$44,713
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of School of Automotive Machinists & Technology

No college is right for everyone. Here is where School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about School of Automotive Machinists & Technology

The questions families ask most about School of Automotive Machinists & Technology, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is School of Automotive Machinists & Technology hard to get into?
Admissions at School of Automotive Machinists & Technology are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 68.6%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at School of Automotive Machinists & Technology?
68.6% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does School of Automotive Machinists & Technology cost?
Budget around $28,242 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is School of Automotive Machinists & Technology worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $57,529 a year against a net price of $28,242, about 2.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is School of Automotive Machinists & Technology known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do School of Automotive Machinists & Technology graduates earn?
About $57,529 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is School of Automotive Machinists & Technology accredited?
Yes. School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend School of Automotive Machinists & Technology?
88 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is School of Automotive Machinists & Technology a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is School of Automotive Machinists & Technology located?
School of Automotive Machinists & Technology is located in Houston, Texas.
What programs does School of Automotive Machinists & Technology offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at School of Automotive Machinists & Technology?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.