School of the Art Institute of Chicago is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Chicago, Illinois. It enrolls 2,805 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes71
Value1
Affordability8
Selectivity47
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
School of the Art Institute of Chicago admits 77.5% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
77.5%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether School of the Art Institute of Chicago is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
19.4 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $49,790 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$56,420
Room & Board (on-campus)
$16,550
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,730
Books & Supplies
$2,380
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,600
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,550
Total Cost of Attendance
$75,625
Application fee: $65 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$43,798
$30,001 – $48,000
$39,845
$48,001 – $75,000
$46,708
$75,001 – $110,000
$49,595
Over $110,000
$55,790
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$4,70010%percentile
$8,50025%percentile
$27,000Medianpercentile
$29,75075%percentile
$37,00090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $22,750
↓ $4,250
No Pell $14,950
↓ $12,050
Dependent students $19,000
↓ $8,000
Independent students $24,250
↓ $2,750
Female students $19,500
↓ $7,500
Male students $18,500
↓ $8,500
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $11,000, less than completers ($27,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
65% of students who start here finish within six years, and 83% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
65%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
83%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,151 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,151
Earning > $25K
62%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$37,300
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$46,000
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$39,400
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$44,500
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$39,000
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $8,700, about 19% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
15.1 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,805 students, a mid-sized community.
Total Enrolled
2,805
Part-Time
7%
First-Generation
21%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 34.6%971
International 27.9%783
Hispanic 13.2%371
Asian 10.2%287
Black 5.7%160
Other 4.8%135
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at School of the Art Institute of Chicago. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
School of the Art Institute of Chicago offers
a varied set of programs:
15 distinct programs across
7 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$104,674
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
137 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
53
39%
$129,450
Associate Professors
58
42%
$95,688
Assistant Professors
16
12%
$78,354
No Rank
10
7%
$67,600
Pros & Cons of School of the Art Institute of Chicago
No college is right for everyone. Here is where School of the Art Institute of Chicago is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Very high published cost of attendance (full-pay families pay much more than the net-price average)
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for:
Based on the data, School of the Art Institute of Chicago is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.
Frequently Asked Questions about School of the Art Institute of Chicago
The questions families ask most about School of the Art Institute of Chicago, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is School of the Art Institute of Chicago hard to get into?
Not especially. School of the Art Institute of Chicago admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 77.5%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at School of the Art Institute of Chicago?
77.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does School of the Art Institute of Chicago cost?
Budget around $49,790 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is School of the Art Institute of Chicago worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,151 a year against a net price of $49,790, about 0.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is School of the Art Institute of Chicago known for?
Mostly Fine Arts, Fine Arts, Teaching Specific Subjects. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do School of the Art Institute of Chicago graduates earn?
About $40,151 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is School of the Art Institute of Chicago accredited?
Yes. School of the Art Institute of Chicago is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend School of the Art Institute of Chicago?
2,805 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at School of the Art Institute of Chicago?
65% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is School of the Art Institute of Chicago a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is School of the Art Institute of Chicago located?
School of the Art Institute of Chicago is located in Chicago, Illinois.
What programs does School of the Art Institute of Chicago offer?
15 different programs, most commonly Fine Arts, Fine Arts, Teaching Specific Subjects. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at School of the Art Institute of Chicago?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Illinois
Other colleges in Illinois share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.