Private Nonprofit Associate Fair 47/100

Shorter College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

N Little Rock, Arkansas

About Shorter College

Thinking about Shorter College, a college in Arkansas where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Shorter College is a private nonprofit institution offering associate degrees based in N Little Rock, Arkansas. It enrolls 287 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
15.3%
Net Price
$14,060
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
287
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
47/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 2
Value —
Affordability 65
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Shorter College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,060 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$14,060
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
75%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
60%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$6,246
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,744
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,744
Books & Supplies
$650
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,579
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,579
Total Cost of Attendance
$21,735

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $13,844
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,243
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $18,089

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,117
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$29,500
Median percentile
$21,496
75% percentile
$30,000
90% percentile
What this means: Aid reaches the majority of students: 75% receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the actual cost to you is likely far below the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

15% of students who start here finish within six years, and 31% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
15%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
31%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Shorter College has not reported graduate earnings. Where that figure is missing, the programs section below is the better guide, since pay follows the field you study more closely than the college you attend.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
—
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$14,500$15,000$15,000$15,500$16,0006 yrs8 yrs

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 287 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
287
Part-Time
6%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 61.3% 176
White 33.1% 95
Hispanic 2.8% 8
Other 1.8% 5
Asian 0.4% 1
Black: 61.3% (176 students)White: 33.1% (95 students)Hispanic: 2.8% (8 students)Other: 1.8% (5 students)Asian: 0.4% (1 students)Total287

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Shorter College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City N Little Rock, Arkansas
Housing
Partly residential 48 beds available
Adult Learners
74% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Shorter College offers a focused set of programs: 6 distinct programs across 6 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$14M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$39,600
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

10 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 10 100% $39,600

Pros & Cons of Shorter College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Shorter College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Shorter College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Shorter College

The questions families ask most about Shorter College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Shorter College hard to get into?
Not especially. Shorter College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Shorter College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Shorter College cost?
Budget around $14,060 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Shorter College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Entrepreneurship, Criminal Justice. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Shorter College accredited?
Yes. Shorter College is accredited by the Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools.
How many students attend Shorter College?
287 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Shorter College?
15% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Shorter College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Shorter College located?
Shorter College is located in N Little Rock, Arkansas.
What programs does Shorter College offer?
6 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Entrepreneurship, Criminal Justice. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Shorter College?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.