Private For-Profit Graduate Fair 51/100

South University-Richmond

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Glen Allen, Virginia

About South University-Richmond

Thinking about South University-Richmond, a college in Virginia where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

South University-Richmond is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Glen Allen, Virginia. It enrolls 232 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
17.8%
Net Price
$30,442
Median Earnings (10yr)
$34,421
Enrollment
232
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 47
Value 8
Affordability 31
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

South University-Richmond does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $30,442 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$30,442
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
39%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
50%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$18,145
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,439
Books & Supplies
$540
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,404
Total Cost of Attendance
$36,577

Application fee: $75 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $29,903
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $31,379
  • Over $110,000
    $33,277

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,501
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$26,123
Median percentile
$22,542
75% percentile
$37,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,324 ↓ $12,799
No Pell $12,500 ↓ $13,623
Dependent students $13,668 ↓ $12,455
Independent students $12,990 ↓ $13,133
Female students $13,624 ↓ $12,499
Male students $10,834 ↓ $15,289
Pell recipients: 17.3% (4,524 students)No Pell: 16.2% (4,244 students)Dependent students: 17.8% (4,641 students)Independent students: 16.9% (4,410 students)Female students: 17.7% (4,626 students)Male students: 14.1% (3,678 students)Overall Median$26,123
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($26,123), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

18% of students who start here finish within six years, and 55% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
18%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
55%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,421 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,421
Earning > $25K
57%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,500$33,000$33,500$34,000$34,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$38,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$46,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$42,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$61,700

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,400, about 18% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 22.2 pts across 6 years
38.7%1yr45.3%3yr58.1%5yr60.9%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 61% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 232 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
232
Part-Time
27%
First-Generation
47%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 51.3% 119
White 25.0% 58
Hispanic 6.5% 15
Other 3.5% 8
Asian 2.2% 5
International 1.7% 4
Black: 51.3% (119 students)White: 25.0% (58 students)Hispanic: 6.5% (15 students)Other: 3.5% (8 students)Asian: 2.2% (5 students)International: 1.7% (4 students)Total232

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at South University-Richmond. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Glen Allen, Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
60% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

South University-Richmond offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 4 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

8 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$64,611
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

12 instructional faculty across 2 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Assistant Professors 9 75% $65,530
Instructors 3 25% $61,856

Pros & Cons of South University-Richmond

No college is right for everyone. Here is where South University-Richmond is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, South University-Richmond is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about South University-Richmond

The questions families ask most about South University-Richmond, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does South University-Richmond cost?
Budget around $30,442 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is South University-Richmond worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,421 a year against a net price of $30,442, about 1.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is South University-Richmond known for?
Mostly Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing, Medical Assisting. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do South University-Richmond graduates earn?
About $34,421 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is South University-Richmond accredited?
Yes. South University-Richmond is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend South University-Richmond?
232 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at South University-Richmond?
18% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is South University-Richmond a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is South University-Richmond located?
South University-Richmond is located in Glen Allen, Virginia.
What programs does South University-Richmond offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing, Medical Assisting. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at South University-Richmond?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.