Public Associate Good 61/100

Southeastern Illinois College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Harrisburg, Illinois

About Southeastern Illinois College

Thinking about Southeastern Illinois College, a college in Illinois where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Southeastern Illinois College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Harrisburg, Illinois. It enrolls 680 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
9.3%
Net Price
$11,437
Median Earnings (10yr)
$33,763
Enrollment
680
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 53
Value 40
Affordability 33
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Southeastern Illinois College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,437 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,437
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$4,560
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$6,780
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,000
Books & Supplies
$845
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,373
Total Cost of Attendance
$16,113

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $10,895
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $11,337
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $12,999
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,731
  • Over $110,000
    $12,908
What this means: 24% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

9% of students who start here finish within six years, and 65% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
9%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
65%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,763 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,763
Earning > $25K
58%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,000$30,000$32,000$33,000$34,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$26,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$44,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $18,000, about 41% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.0 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 680 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 43% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
680
Part-Time
29%
First-Generation
43%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 86.2% 586
Hispanic 4.0% 27
Other 3.8% 26
Black 3.4% 23
Asian 1.0% 7
International 0.6% 4
White: 86.2% (586 students)Hispanic: 4.0% (27 students)Other: 3.8% (26 students)Black: 3.4% (23 students)Asian: 1.0% (7 students)International: 0.6% (4 students)Total680

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Southeastern Illinois College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Harrisburg, Illinois
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
25% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Southeastern Illinois College offers a varied set of programs: 19 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
4 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$5,744
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$4.3M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$62,270
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

33 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 33 100% $62,270

Pros & Cons of Southeastern Illinois College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Southeastern Illinois College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Southeastern Illinois College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Southeastern Illinois College

The questions families ask most about Southeastern Illinois College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Southeastern Illinois College hard to get into?
Not especially. Southeastern Illinois College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Southeastern Illinois College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Southeastern Illinois College cost?
Budget around $11,437 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southeastern Illinois College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,763 a year against a net price of $11,437, about 3.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Southeastern Illinois College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Ground Transportation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Southeastern Illinois College graduates earn?
About $33,763 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southeastern Illinois College accredited?
Yes. Southeastern Illinois College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Southeastern Illinois College?
680 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Southeastern Illinois College?
9% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Southeastern Illinois College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Southeastern Illinois College located?
Southeastern Illinois College is located in Harrisburg, Illinois.
What programs does Southeastern Illinois College offer?
19 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Ground Transportation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Southeastern Illinois College?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.