Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 58/100

Southern California University of Health Sciences

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Whittier, California

About Southern California University of Health Sciences

Thinking about Southern California University of Health Sciences, a college in California where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Southern California University of Health Sciences is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Whittier, California. It enrolls 158 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$45,848
Median Earnings (10yr)
$70,649
Enrollment
158
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Academic Calendar Trimester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 74
Value 18
Affordability 2
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Southern California University of Health Sciences does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $45,848 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$45,848
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
7%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
11%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$10,476
Room & Board (on-campus)
$29,769
Room & Board (off-campus)
$33,204
Books & Supplies
$1,416
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$12,696
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$12,696
Total Cost of Attendance
$57,740

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$6,385
25% percentile
$11,400
Median percentile
$18,750
75% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,400 —
No Pell $7,600 ↓ $3,800
Female students $7,600 ↓ $3,800
Male students $17,665 ↑ $6,265
Pell recipients: 25.8% (2,936 students)No Pell: 17.2% (1,957 students)Female students: 17.2% (1,957 students)Male students: 39.9% (4,549 students)Overall Median$11,400
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,600, less than completers ($11,400), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

Southern California University of Health Sciences has not reported completion figures. That is common for smaller and newer schools, but it is worth asking directly how many students finish, because a degree you do not complete still has to be paid for.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $70,649 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$70,649
Earning > $25K
75%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,000$40,000$50,000$65,000$75,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.5 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 158 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 70% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
158
Part-Time
70%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 34.2% 54
White 22.2% 35
Asian 17.7% 28
Black 13.9% 22
Other 8.2% 13
International 0.6% 1
Hispanic: 34.2% (54 students)White: 22.2% (35 students)Asian: 17.7% (28 students)Black: 13.9% (22 students)Other: 8.2% (13 students)International: 0.6% (1 students)Total158

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Southern California University of Health Sciences. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Whittier, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
57% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Trimester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Biology graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Southern California University of Health Sciences offers a focused set of programs: 9 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$40M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$76,683
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

46 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 7 15% $94,479
Associate Professors 7 15% $79,734
Assistant Professors 20 43% $75,680
Instructors 6 13% $70,726
No Rank 6 13% $65,415

Pros & Cons of Southern California University of Health Sciences

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Southern California University of Health Sciences is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • High net price compared to most US colleges
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Most students don't qualify for need-based federal aid
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Southern California University of Health Sciences is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Southern California University of Health Sciences

The questions families ask most about Southern California University of Health Sciences, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Southern California University of Health Sciences cost?
Budget around $45,848 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southern California University of Health Sciences worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $70,649 a year against a net price of $45,848, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Southern California University of Health Sciences known for?
Mostly Chiropractic, Biology, Alternative Medicine. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Southern California University of Health Sciences graduates earn?
About $70,649 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southern California University of Health Sciences accredited?
Yes. Southern California University of Health Sciences is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
How many students attend Southern California University of Health Sciences?
158 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Southern California University of Health Sciences a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Southern California University of Health Sciences located?
Southern California University of Health Sciences is located in Whittier, California.
What programs does Southern California University of Health Sciences offer?
9 different programs, most commonly Chiropractic, Biology, Alternative Medicine. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Southern California University of Health Sciences?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.