Public Graduate Good 60/100

Southern University Law Center

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Baton Rouge, Louisiana

About Southern University Law Center

Thinking about Southern University Law Center, a college in Louisiana? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Southern University Law Center is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. It enrolls 607 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
36.3%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,371
Enrollment
607
Student : Faculty
.:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
60/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 43
Value —
Affordability —
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Southern University Law Center does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Southern University Law Center has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
—
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
—
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,500
10% percentile
$6,500
25% percentile
$29,251
Median percentile
$31,000
75% percentile
$44,725
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,525 ↓ $12,726
No Pell $12,000 ↓ $17,251
Dependent students $15,000 ↓ $14,251
Independent students $19,719 ↓ $9,532
Female students $17,714 ↓ $11,537
Male students $12,250 ↓ $17,001
Pell recipients: 17.7% (5,186 students)No Pell: 12.9% (3,766 students)Dependent students: 16.1% (4,707 students)Independent students: 21.2% (6,188 students)Female students: 19.0% (5,559 students)Male students: 13.1% (3,844 students)Overall Median$29,251
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($29,251), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

36% of students who start here finish within six years, and 60% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
36%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
60%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,371 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,371
Earning > $25K
68%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$35,000$38,000$42,000$45,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$35,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$45,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$41,700

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$43,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,200, about 23% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↓ 2.9 pts across 6 years
69%1yr65.2%3yr62.3%5yr66%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 66% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 607 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 40% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
607
Part-Time
9%
First-Generation
40%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 95.1% 577
Other 1.5% 9
Hispanic 1.2% 7
White 0.5% 3
International 0.3% 2
Black: 95.1% (577 students)Other: 1.5% (9 students)Hispanic: 1.2% (7 students)White: 0.5% (3 students)International: 0.3% (2 students)Total607

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Southern University Law Center. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
8% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Historically Black College / University (HBCU)
Designation
Branch campus

Faculty & Resources

There are . students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
.:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$10,856
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$2.2M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$80,948
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

38 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 3 8% $111,961
Associate Professors 15 39% $95,823
Assistant Professors 12 32% $55,681
Instructors 8 21% $79,330

Pros & Cons of Southern University Law Center

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Southern University Law Center is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Higher than typical student debt at graduation
Best for: Based on the data, Southern University Law Center is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Southern University Law Center

The questions families ask most about Southern University Law Center, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What do Southern University Law Center graduates earn?
About $43,371 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southern University Law Center accredited?
Yes. Southern University Law Center is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Southern University Law Center?
607 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Southern University Law Center?
36% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Southern University Law Center a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Southern University Law Center located?
Southern University Law Center is located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Southern University Law Center?
. students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.