Southside College of Health Sciences is a private nonprofit institution offering associate degrees based in Colonial Heights, Virginia. It enrolls 151 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
60/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes—
Value—
Affordability43
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, Southside College of Health Sciences admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Southside College of Health Sciences has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.
Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
49%
Borrowing to attend
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,44810%percentile
$5,00325%percentile
$13,758Medianpercentile
$14,95975%percentile
$17,63090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,750
↓ $2,008
No Pell $14,000
↑ $242
Dependent students $5,500
↓ $8,258
Independent students $16,760
↑ $3,002
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($13,758), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
71% of students who start here finish within six years. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
71%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $71,380 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$71,380
Earning > $25K
87%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
14.0 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 77% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 151 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 93% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
151
Part-Time
93%
First-Generation
—
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 62.3%94
Black 25.2%38
Other 5.3%8
Asian 4.0%6
Hispanic 2.0%3
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Southside College of Health Sciences. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large SuburbColonial Heights, Virginia
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
59%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated
What You Can Study
Southside College of Health Sciences offers
a focused set of programs:
2 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 4 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
4:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$66,679
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
11 instructional faculty across 3 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Associate Professors
1
9%
$90,168
Assistant Professors
1
9%
$67,829
Instructors
9
82%
$63,941
Pros & Cons of Southside College of Health Sciences
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Southside College of Health Sciences is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for:
Based on the data, Southside College of Health Sciences is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings.
Frequently Asked Questions about Southside College of Health Sciences
The questions families ask most about Southside College of Health Sciences, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Southside College of Health Sciences hard to get into?
Not especially. Southside College of Health Sciences admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Southside College of Health Sciences?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
What is Southside College of Health Sciences known for?
Mostly Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Southside College of Health Sciences graduates earn?
About $71,380 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southside College of Health Sciences accredited?
Yes. Southside College of Health Sciences is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Southside College of Health Sciences?
151 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Southside College of Health Sciences?
71% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Southside College of Health Sciences a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Southside College of Health Sciences located?
Southside College of Health Sciences is located in Colonial Heights, Virginia.
What programs does Southside College of Health Sciences offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Southside College of Health Sciences?
4 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Virginia
Other colleges in Virginia share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.