Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 64/100

Spartanburg Methodist College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Spartanburg, South Carolina

About Spartanburg Methodist College

Thinking about Spartanburg Methodist College, a college in South Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Spartanburg Methodist College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Spartanburg, South Carolina. It enrolls 1,116 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
78.2%
Graduation
27.8%
Net Price
$14,580
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,895
Enrollment
1,116
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
64/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 22
Value 59
Affordability 84
Selectivity 46

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Spartanburg Methodist College admits 78.2% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
78.2%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Spartanburg Methodist College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 20.3 pts since 2019
61.1%201982.6%202080.4%202182.1%202281.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,580 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$14,580
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
61%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
46%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$20,650
Room & Board (on-campus)
$11,160
Room & Board (off-campus)
$17,208
Books & Supplies
$350
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,366
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,194
Total Cost of Attendance
$32,183

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $13,794
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $13,416
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $15,673
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,204
  • Over $110,000
    $18,025

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$12,000
75% percentile
$12,600
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,000 ↓ $4,000
No Pell $6,065 ↓ $5,935
Dependent students $7,407 ↓ $4,593
Independent students $9,488 ↓ $2,512
Female students $8,000 ↓ $4,000
Male students $7,151 ↓ $4,849
Pell recipients: 17.3% (2,082 students)No Pell: 13.2% (1,578 students)Dependent students: 16.1% (1,928 students)Independent students: 20.6% (2,469 students)Female students: 17.3% (2,082 students)Male students: 15.5% (1,861 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

28% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
28%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,895 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,895
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$35,000$38,000$41,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$34,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$37,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,500, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 18.0 pts across 6 years
46.4%1yr49.5%3yr60.6%5yr64.4%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 64% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,116 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 31% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,116
Part-Time
2%
First-Generation
31%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 44.1% 492
Black 30.7% 343
Hispanic 18.9% 211
Other 4.9% 55
Asian 0.6% 7
International 0.6% 7
White: 44.1% (492 students)Black: 30.7% (343 students)Hispanic: 18.9% (211 students)Other: 4.9% (55 students)Asian: 0.6% (7 students)International: 0.6% (7 students)Total1,116

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Spartanburg Methodist College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize Suburb Spartanburg, South Carolina
Housing
Mostly residential 601 beds on campus
Adult Learners
6% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Spartanburg Methodist College offers a focused set of programs: 6 distinct programs across 5 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$47M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$53,684
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

37 instructional faculty across 2 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 36 97% $53,674
Assistant Professors 1 3% $54,060

Pros & Cons of Spartanburg Methodist College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Spartanburg Methodist College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Spartanburg Methodist College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Spartanburg Methodist College

The questions families ask most about Spartanburg Methodist College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Spartanburg Methodist College hard to get into?
Not especially. Spartanburg Methodist College admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 78.2%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Spartanburg Methodist College?
78.2% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Spartanburg Methodist College cost?
Budget around $14,580 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Spartanburg Methodist College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,895 a year against a net price of $14,580, about 2.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Spartanburg Methodist College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Spartanburg Methodist College graduates earn?
About $42,895 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Spartanburg Methodist College accredited?
Yes. Spartanburg Methodist College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Spartanburg Methodist College?
1,116 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Spartanburg Methodist College?
28% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Spartanburg Methodist College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Spartanburg Methodist College located?
Spartanburg Methodist College is located in Spartanburg, South Carolina.
What programs does Spartanburg Methodist College offer?
6 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Spartanburg Methodist College?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.