Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Fair 54/100

St. John's College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Springfield, Illinois

About St. John's College

Thinking about St. John's College, a college in Illinois where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

St. John's College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Springfield, Illinois. It enrolls 126 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$86,331
Enrollment
126
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
54/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 34
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

St. John's College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. St. John's College has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
30%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
76%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$7,500
10% percentile
$15,000
25% percentile
$18,750
Median percentile
$25,000
75% percentile
$25,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $18,750 —
No Pell $15,000 ↓ $3,750
Dependent students $15,000 ↓ $3,750
Independent students $25,000 ↑ $6,250
Pell recipients: 25.4% (4,767 students)No Pell: 20.3% (3,814 students)Dependent students: 20.3% (3,814 students)Independent students: 33.9% (6,356 students)Overall Median$18,750
What this means: 30% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

St. John's College has not reported completion figures. That is common for smaller and newer schools, but it is worth asking directly how many students finish, because a degree you do not complete still has to be paid for.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $86,331 a year, well above the national median. Strong earnings, though the field studied drives much of that. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$86,331
Earning > $25K
96%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$65,000$70,000$75,000$85,000$90,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 126 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
126
Part-Time
8%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 65.9% 83
Black 20.6% 26
Hispanic 3.2% 4
Other 3.2% 4
Asian 2.4% 3
White: 65.9% (83 students)Black: 20.6% (26 students)Hispanic: 3.2% (4 students)Other: 3.2% (4 students)Asian: 2.4% (3 students)Total126

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at St. John's College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Springfield, Illinois
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
49% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

St. John's College offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$4.7M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$61,230
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

15 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 1 7% $75,302
Associate Professors 5 33% $63,579
Assistant Professors 8 53% $60,488
Instructors 1 7% $41,340

Pros & Cons of St. John's College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where St. John's College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, St. John's College is a fit for students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about St. John's College

The questions families ask most about St. John's College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What is St. John's College known for?
Mostly Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do St. John's College graduates earn?
About $86,331 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is St. John's College accredited?
Yes. St. John's College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend St. John's College?
126 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is St. John's College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is St. John's College located?
St. John's College is located in Springfield, Illinois.
What programs does St. John's College offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at St. John's College?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.