Sterling College is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Craftsbury Common, Vermont. It enrolls 50 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorNew England Commission on Higher Education
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes23
Value4
Affordability60
Selectivity67
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Sterling College admits 66.7% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.
Acceptance Rate
66.7%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Sterling College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Becoming less selective ↑
6.1 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $21,854 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$40,760
Room & Board (on-campus)
$10,950
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,950
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$54,410
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$18,533
$30,001 – $48,000
$17,655
$48,001 – $75,000
$24,564
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$6,50025%percentile
$23,000Medianpercentile
$26,14075%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Female students $16,492
↓ $6,508
Male students $12,125
↓ $10,875
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,980, less than completers ($23,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
66% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
66%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $30,573 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$30,573
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
What this means:
Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.4 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 50 students, an intimate, close-knit community.
Total Enrolled
50
Part-Time
12%
First-Generation
—
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 74.0%37
Hispanic 6.0%3
Asian 4.0%2
International 4.0%2
Other 4.0%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Sterling College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Sterling College offers
a focused set of programs:
4 distinct programs across
4 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$6.0M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$50,125
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
6 instructional faculty across 1 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
No Rank
6
100%
$50,125
Pros & Cons of Sterling College
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Sterling College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for:
Based on the data, Sterling College is a fit for
students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Sterling College
The questions families ask most about Sterling College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Sterling College hard to get into?
Admissions at Sterling College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 66.7%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Sterling College?
66.7% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Sterling College cost?
Budget around $21,854 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Sterling College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $30,573 a year against a net price of $21,854, about 1.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Sterling College known for?
Mostly Agricultural Production Operations, Ecology, Outdoor Education. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Sterling College graduates earn?
About $30,573 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Sterling College accredited?
Yes. Sterling College is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Sterling College?
50 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Sterling College?
66% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Sterling College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Sterling College located?
Sterling College is located in Craftsbury Common, Vermont.
What programs does Sterling College offer?
4 different programs, most commonly Agricultural Production Operations, Ecology, Outdoor Education. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Sterling College?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Vermont
Other colleges in Vermont share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
English Language and Literature/Letters
Literature
Visual & Performing Arts
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.