Public Associate Good 61/100

SUNY Westchester Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Valhalla, New York

About SUNY Westchester Community College

Thinking about SUNY Westchester Community College, a college in New York where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

SUNY Westchester Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Valhalla, New York. It enrolls 8,078 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
—
Net Price
$9,373
Median Earnings (10yr)
$46,822
Enrollment
8,078
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 24
Value 68
Affordability 51
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, SUNY Westchester Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,373 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$9,373
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
35%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
10%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$5,948
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$12,486
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,700
Books & Supplies
$2,400
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,200
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,316

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,965
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,398
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $10,505
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,782
  • Over $110,000
    $14,403

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$2,750
25% percentile
$10,400
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$15,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,500 ↓ $4,900
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,900
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $4,900
Independent students $7,125 ↓ $3,275
Female students $5,500 ↓ $4,900
Male students $5,500 ↓ $4,900
Pell recipients: 15.9% (1,652 students)No Pell: 15.9% (1,652 students)Dependent students: 15.9% (1,652 students)Independent students: 20.6% (2,140 students)Female students: 15.9% (1,652 students)Male students: 15.9% (1,652 students)Overall Median$10,400
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,400), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

63% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $46,822 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$46,822
Earning > $25K
70%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,000$38,000$41,000$45,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$39,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$48,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$40,400

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$45,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$50,300

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,500, about 18% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.1 pts across 6 years
52.2%1yr56.3%3yr55.7%5yr65.3%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 65% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 8,078 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 49% are the first in their family to go to college, and 44% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
8,078
Part-Time
44%
First-Generation
49%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 49.3% 3,986
White 21.6% 1,747
Black 18.4% 1,482
Asian 3.6% 291
Other 2.8% 229
International 1.9% 154
Hispanic: 49.3% (3,986 students)White: 21.6% (1,747 students)Black: 18.4% (1,482 students)Asian: 3.6% (291 students)Other: 2.8% (229 students)International: 1.9% (154 students)Total8,078

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at SUNY Westchester Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Valhalla, New York
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
26% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

SUNY Westchester Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 44 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
6 Programs
8 Programs
4 Programs
4 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,372
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$96,829
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

153 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 39 25% $122,036
Associate Professors 30 20% $106,642
Assistant Professors 54 35% $90,062
Instructors 30 20% $66,428

Pros & Cons of SUNY Westchester Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where SUNY Westchester Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, SUNY Westchester Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about SUNY Westchester Community College

The questions families ask most about SUNY Westchester Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is SUNY Westchester Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. SUNY Westchester Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at SUNY Westchester Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does SUNY Westchester Community College cost?
Budget around $9,373 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is SUNY Westchester Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $46,822 a year against a net price of $9,373, about 5.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is SUNY Westchester Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Criminal Justice. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do SUNY Westchester Community College graduates earn?
About $46,822 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is SUNY Westchester Community College accredited?
Yes. SUNY Westchester Community College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend SUNY Westchester Community College?
8,078 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is SUNY Westchester Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is SUNY Westchester Community College located?
SUNY Westchester Community College is located in Valhalla, New York.
What programs does SUNY Westchester Community College offer?
44 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business Administration, Criminal Justice. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at SUNY Westchester Community College?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.