Public Associate Fair 48/100

Technical College of the Lowcountry

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Beaufort, South Carolina

About Technical College of the Lowcountry

Thinking about Technical College of the Lowcountry, a college in South Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Technical College of the Lowcountry is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Beaufort, South Carolina. It enrolls 1,679 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
17.6%
Net Price
$14,724
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,090
Enrollment
1,679
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
48/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 14
Value 33
Affordability 39
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Technical College of the Lowcountry admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,724 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$14,724
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
33%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
7%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$6,156
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$11,916
Room & Board (off-campus)
$23,382
Books & Supplies
$1,300
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,928
Total Cost of Attendance
$23,832

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $14,531
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,726
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $20,323

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,553
10% percentile
$2,752
25% percentile
$10,000
Median percentile
$11,500
75% percentile
$20,146
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,500 ↓ $2,500
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,500
Dependent students $4,696 ↓ $5,304
Independent students $7,845 ↓ $2,155
Female students $6,431 ↓ $3,569
Male students $6,036 ↓ $3,964
Pell recipients: 19.7% (1,973 students)No Pell: 14.5% (1,447 students)Dependent students: 12.4% (1,236 students)Independent students: 20.6% (2,064 students)Female students: 16.9% (1,692 students)Male students: 15.9% (1,588 students)Overall Median$10,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

18% of students who start here finish within six years, and 59% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
18%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
59%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,090 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,090
Earning > $25K
58%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$33,500$34,000$35,000$35,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$38,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,200, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 2.1 pts across 6 years
57.9%1yr58.4%3yr68.1%5yr60%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 60% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,679 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 45% are the first in their family to go to college, and 70% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,679
Part-Time
70%
First-Generation
45%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 39.0% 654
Black 31.2% 523
Hispanic 22.6% 380
Other 5.3% 89
Asian 1.0% 17
White: 39.0% (654 students)Black: 31.2% (523 students)Hispanic: 22.6% (380 students)Other: 5.3% (89 students)Asian: 1.0% (17 students)Total1,679

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Technical College of the Lowcountry. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Beaufort, South Carolina
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
32% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Technical College of the Lowcountry offers a varied set of programs: 17 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
4 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$7,134
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$683,385
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$57,882
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

59 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 59 100% $57,882

Pros & Cons of Technical College of the Lowcountry

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Technical College of the Lowcountry is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Technical College of the Lowcountry is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Technical College of the Lowcountry

The questions families ask most about Technical College of the Lowcountry, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Technical College of the Lowcountry hard to get into?
Not especially. Technical College of the Lowcountry admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Technical College of the Lowcountry?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Technical College of the Lowcountry cost?
Budget around $14,724 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Technical College of the Lowcountry worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,090 a year against a net price of $14,724, about 2.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Technical College of the Lowcountry known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Technical College of the Lowcountry graduates earn?
About $35,090 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Technical College of the Lowcountry accredited?
Yes. Technical College of the Lowcountry is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Technical College of the Lowcountry?
1,679 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Technical College of the Lowcountry?
18% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Technical College of the Lowcountry a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Technical College of the Lowcountry located?
Technical College of the Lowcountry is located in Beaufort, South Carolina.
What programs does Technical College of the Lowcountry offer?
17 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Technical College of the Lowcountry?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.