Public Certificate Strong 76/100

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Crossville, Tennessee

About Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland

Thinking about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland, a college in Tennessee where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland is a public institution offering certificate degrees based in Crossville, Tennessee. It enrolls 360 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
68.9%
Net Price
$10,865
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,551
Enrollment
360
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
76/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 90
Value 45
Affordability 48
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,865 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,865
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
35%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,184
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $11,121
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $8,326
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,927
  • Over $110,000
    $16,751
What this means: 35% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

69% of students who start here finish within six years, and 81% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
69%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
81%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,551 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,551
Earning > $25K
60%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$34,000$35,000$37,000$38,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$21,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$33,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,800, about 36% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.3 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 360 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 67% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
360
Part-Time
12%
First-Generation
67%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 88.6% 319
Hispanic 5.8% 21
Other 2.5% 9
Black 1.4% 5
International 0.6% 2
White: 88.6% (319 students)Hispanic: 5.8% (21 students)Other: 2.5% (9 students)Black: 1.4% (5 students)International: 0.6% (2 students)Total360

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Crossville, Tennessee
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
15% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Precision Production graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland offers a varied set of programs: 13 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$10,652
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student

Pros & Cons of Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland

The questions families ask most about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland hard to get into?
Not especially. Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland cost?
Budget around $10,865 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,551 a year against a net price of $10,865, about 3.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland known for?
Mostly Precision Metal Working, Ground Transportation, Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland graduates earn?
About $35,551 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland accredited?
Yes. Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland?
360 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland?
69% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland located?
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland is located in Crossville, Tennessee.
What programs does Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland offer?
13 different programs, most commonly Precision Metal Working, Ground Transportation, Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Upper Cumberland?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.