Public Graduate Good 64/100

Texas A&M University-Texarkana

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Texarkana, Texas

About Texas A&M University-Texarkana

Thinking about Texas A&M University-Texarkana, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Texas A&M University-Texarkana is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Texarkana, Texas. It enrolls 1,982 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
63.5%
Graduation
47.5%
Net Price
$12,997
Median Earnings (10yr)
$45,515
Enrollment
1,982
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
64/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 9
Value 75
Affordability 85
Selectivity 45

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Texas A&M University-Texarkana admits 63.5% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
63.5%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Texas A&M University-Texarkana is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Getting more selective ↓ 13.4 pts since 2019
93.6%201996.5%202096%202191.5%202280.2%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,997 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,997
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
53%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
45%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$8,349
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$45,080
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,972
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,972
Books & Supplies
$1,800
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,260
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,260
Total Cost of Attendance
$23,778

Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $11,002
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $11,494
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $14,432
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,871
  • Over $110,000
    $18,268

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,619
10% percentile
$4,807
25% percentile
$18,953
Median percentile
$18,000
75% percentile
$27,040
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,163 ↓ $5,790
No Pell $10,616 ↓ $8,337
Dependent students $9,000 ↓ $9,953
Independent students $16,000 ↓ $2,953
Female students $13,206 ↓ $5,747
Male students $10,250 ↓ $8,703
Pell recipients: 18.2% (3,454 students)No Pell: 14.7% (2,785 students)Dependent students: 12.5% (2,361 students)Independent students: 22.1% (4,198 students)Female students: 18.3% (3,465 students)Male students: 14.2% (2,689 students)Overall Median$18,953
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,610, less than completers ($18,953), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

48% of students who start here finish within six years, and 62% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
48%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
62%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $45,515 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$45,515
Earning > $25K
76%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$41,000$42,500$43,500$45,000$46,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$36,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$53,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $17,500, about 33% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.2 pts across 6 years
58.4%1yr63.4%3yr63.4%5yr71.6%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,982 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,982
Part-Time
23%
First-Generation
48%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 46.5% 921
Hispanic 23.1% 458
Black 17.5% 346
Other 5.9% 117
International 4.4% 88
Asian 1.9% 37
White: 46.5% (921 students)Hispanic: 23.1% (458 students)Black: 17.5% (346 students)Other: 5.9% (117 students)International: 4.4% (88 students)Asian: 1.9% (37 students)Total1,982

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Texas A&M University-Texarkana. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Texarkana, Texas
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 294 beds
Adult Learners
30% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Texas A&M University-Texarkana offers a varied set of programs: 31 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$12,992
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$12M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$80,253
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

98 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 18 18% $88,859
Associate Professors 27 28% $82,898
Assistant Professors 31 32% $81,467
Instructors 18 18% $67,088
Lecturers 4 4% $73,515

Pros & Cons of Texas A&M University-Texarkana

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Texas A&M University-Texarkana is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical

Frequently Asked Questions about Texas A&M University-Texarkana

The questions families ask most about Texas A&M University-Texarkana, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Texas A&M University-Texarkana hard to get into?
Admissions at Texas A&M University-Texarkana are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 63.5%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Texas A&M University-Texarkana?
63.5% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Texas A&M University-Texarkana cost?
Budget around $12,997 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Texas A&M University-Texarkana worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $45,515 a year against a net price of $12,997, about 3.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Texas A&M University-Texarkana known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Liberal Arts. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Texas A&M University-Texarkana graduates earn?
About $45,515 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Texas A&M University-Texarkana accredited?
Yes. Texas A&M University-Texarkana is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Texas A&M University-Texarkana?
1,982 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Texas A&M University-Texarkana?
48% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Texas A&M University-Texarkana a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Texas A&M University-Texarkana located?
Texas A&M University-Texarkana is located in Texarkana, Texas.
What programs does Texas A&M University-Texarkana offer?
31 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Liberal Arts. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Texas A&M University-Texarkana?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.