Private For-Profit Associate Good 68/100

Texas Health School

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Houston, Texas

About Texas Health School

Thinking about Texas Health School, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Texas Health School is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Houston, Texas. It enrolls 192 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
69.9%
Net Price
$32,550
Median Earnings (10yr)
$30,187
Enrollment
192
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
68/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 94
Value 2
Affordability 42
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Texas Health School admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $32,550 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$32,550
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
61%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
64%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $31,494
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $36,787
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $33,590

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,121
10% percentile
$4,678
25% percentile
$10,915
Median percentile
$7,593
75% percentile
$9,160
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Dependent students $6,121 ↓ $4,794
Independent students $10,193 ↓ $722
Dependent students: 37.5% (4,095 students)Independent students: 62.5% (6,820 students)Overall Median$10,915
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,670, less than completers ($10,915), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

70% of students who start here finish within six years, and 88% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
70%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
88%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $30,187 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$30,187
Earning > $25K
50%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$28,500$29,000$29,500$30,000$30,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 12.1 pts across 6 years
43.3%1yr46.7%3yr45.2%5yr55.5%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 55% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 192 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
192
Part-Time
7%
First-Generation
53%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 80.7% 155
Hispanic 12.5% 24
White 3.1% 6
Asian 2.1% 4
Other 1.6% 3
Black: 80.7% (155 students)Hispanic: 12.5% (24 students)White: 3.1% (6 students)Asian: 2.1% (4 students)Other: 1.6% (3 students)Total192

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Texas Health School. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Houston, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
76% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Texas Health School offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$64,650
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Texas Health School

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Texas Health School is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Texas Health School is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Texas Health School

The questions families ask most about Texas Health School, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Texas Health School hard to get into?
Not especially. Texas Health School admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Texas Health School?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Texas Health School cost?
Budget around $32,550 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Texas Health School worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $30,187 a year against a net price of $32,550, about 0.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Texas Health School known for?
Mostly Practical Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Texas Health School graduates earn?
About $30,187 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Texas Health School accredited?
Yes. Texas Health School is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend Texas Health School?
192 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Texas Health School?
70% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Texas Health School a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Texas Health School located?
Texas Health School is located in Houston, Texas.
What programs does Texas Health School offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Practical Nursing, Practical Nursing, Medical Assisting. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Texas Health School?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.