Unity Environmental University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in New Gloucester, Maine. It enrolls 6,483 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorNew England Commission on Higher Education
Academic CalendarOther Academic Year
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes20
Value26
Affordability57
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Unity Environmental University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Unity Environmental University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Getting more selective ↓
16.5 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $19,104 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$12,640
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,800
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,760
Books & Supplies
$800
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,280
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,280
Total Cost of Attendance
$21,931
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$18,370
$30,001 – $48,000
$19,288
$48,001 – $75,000
$20,079
$75,001 – $110,000
$21,408
Over $110,000
$21,931
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,75010%percentile
$5,50025%percentile
$25,000Medianpercentile
$27,00075%percentile
$31,00090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $4,535
↓ $20,465
No Pell $5,500
↓ $19,500
Dependent students $7,126
↓ $17,874
Independent students $3,369
↓ $21,631
Female students $4,249
↓ $20,751
Male students $5,611
↓ $19,389
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $3,935, less than completers ($25,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
57% of students who start here finish within six years, and 38% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
57%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
38%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $37,852 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$37,852
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$30,700
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$40,500
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$31,100
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$36,300
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$41,000
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $9,800, about 24% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
15.3 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Excellent. 92% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 6,483 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
6,483
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
32%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 70.4%4,562
Hispanic 12.5%810
Black 6.8%441
Other 6.2%399
Asian 0.6%41
International 0.0%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Unity Environmental University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Unity Environmental University offers
a varied set of programs:
21 distinct programs across
10 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 36 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
36:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$50M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$48,697
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
24 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
5
21%
$54,250
Associate Professors
10
42%
$50,469
Assistant Professors
8
33%
$41,079
Instructors
1
4%
—
Pros & Cons of Unity Environmental University
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Unity Environmental University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Frequently Asked Questions about Unity Environmental University
The questions families ask most about Unity Environmental University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does Unity Environmental University cost?
Budget around $19,104 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Unity Environmental University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $37,852 a year against a net price of $19,104, about 2.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Unity Environmental University known for?
Mostly Ecology, Natural Resources Conservation and Research, Animal Sciences. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Unity Environmental University graduates earn?
About $37,852 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Unity Environmental University accredited?
Yes. Unity Environmental University is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Unity Environmental University?
6,483 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Unity Environmental University?
57% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Unity Environmental University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Unity Environmental University located?
Unity Environmental University is located in New Gloucester, Maine.
What programs does Unity Environmental University offer?
21 different programs, most commonly Ecology, Natural Resources Conservation and Research, Animal Sciences. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Unity Environmental University?
36 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Maine
Other colleges in Maine share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Liberal Arts
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers
Medical Assisting
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.