Private For-Profit Associate Good 67/100

Universal Technical Institute-Orlando

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Orlando, Florida

About Universal Technical Institute-Orlando

Thinking about Universal Technical Institute-Orlando, a college in Florida where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Universal Technical Institute-Orlando is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Orlando, Florida. It enrolls 788 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
63.8%
Net Price
$25,003
Median Earnings (10yr)
$48,341
Enrollment
788
Student : Faculty
18:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
67/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 78
Value 26
Affordability 42
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Universal Technical Institute-Orlando admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $25,003 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$25,003
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
49%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
55%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $23,404
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $24,776
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $26,242
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $28,207
  • Over $110,000
    $28,905

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,325
10% percentile
$9,000
25% percentile
$13,097
Median percentile
$18,688
75% percentile
$22,507
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $10,774 ↓ $2,323
No Pell $10,239 ↓ $2,858
Dependent students $10,239 ↓ $2,858
Independent students $12,242 ↓ $855
Female students $9,532 ↓ $3,565
Male students $10,375 ↓ $2,722
Pell recipients: 17.0% (2,226 students)No Pell: 16.1% (2,115 students)Dependent students: 16.1% (2,115 students)Independent students: 19.3% (2,529 students)Female students: 15.0% (1,969 students)Male students: 16.4% (2,143 students)Overall Median$13,097
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($13,097), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

64% of students who start here finish within six years, and 76% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
64%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $48,341 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$48,341
Earning > $25K
74%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$42,000$44,000$46,000$47,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$30,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$41,900

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$43,600

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$45,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,100, about 26% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 14.2 pts across 6 years
43%1yr47.3%3yr48.5%5yr57.2%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 57% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 788 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 51% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
788
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
51%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 61.3% 483
Hispanic 13.1% 103
Other 12.2% 96
Black 8.9% 70
Asian 1.0% 8
White: 61.3% (483 students)Hispanic: 13.1% (103 students)Other: 12.2% (96 students)Black: 8.9% (70 students)Asian: 1.0% (8 students)Total788

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Universal Technical Institute-Orlando. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Orlando, Florida
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
42% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

Universal Technical Institute-Orlando offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 18 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
18:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$51,928
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Universal Technical Institute-Orlando

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Universal Technical Institute-Orlando is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Universal Technical Institute-Orlando is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Universal Technical Institute-Orlando

The questions families ask most about Universal Technical Institute-Orlando, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Universal Technical Institute-Orlando hard to get into?
Not especially. Universal Technical Institute-Orlando admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Universal Technical Institute-Orlando?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Universal Technical Institute-Orlando cost?
Budget around $25,003 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Universal Technical Institute-Orlando worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $48,341 a year against a net price of $25,003, about 1.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Universal Technical Institute-Orlando known for?
Mostly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Universal Technical Institute-Orlando graduates earn?
About $48,341 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Universal Technical Institute-Orlando accredited?
Yes. Universal Technical Institute-Orlando is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Universal Technical Institute-Orlando?
788 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Universal Technical Institute-Orlando?
64% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Universal Technical Institute-Orlando a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Universal Technical Institute-Orlando located?
Universal Technical Institute-Orlando is located in Orlando, Florida.
What programs does Universal Technical Institute-Orlando offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Universal Technical Institute-Orlando?
18 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.