Private For-Profit Associate Strong 71/100

Universal Technical Institute-West Texas

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Austin, Texas

About Universal Technical Institute-West Texas

Thinking about Universal Technical Institute-West Texas, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Precision Production than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Universal Technical Institute-West Texas is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Austin, Texas. It enrolls 1,335 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
63.1%
Net Price
$26,117
Median Earnings (10yr)
$51,222
Enrollment
1,335
Student : Faculty
53:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 87
Value 27
Affordability 46
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Universal Technical Institute-West Texas admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $26,117 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$26,117
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
59%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
63%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $24,285
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $25,315
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $26,685
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $29,031
  • Over $110,000
    $30,855

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$6,188
25% percentile
$14,267
Median percentile
$18,084
75% percentile
$22,625
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,563 ↓ $2,704
No Pell $11,589 ↓ $2,678
Dependent students $11,688 ↓ $2,579
Independent students $10,594 ↓ $3,673
Female students $9,500 ↓ $4,767
Male students $11,688 ↓ $2,579
Pell recipients: 17.4% (2,476 students)No Pell: 17.4% (2,482 students)Dependent students: 17.5% (2,503 students)Independent students: 15.9% (2,269 students)Female students: 14.3% (2,034 students)Male students: 17.5% (2,503 students)Overall Median$14,267
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($14,267), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

63% of students who start here finish within six years, and 82% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
63%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
82%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $51,222 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$51,222
Earning > $25K
75%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$47,000$48,000$49,000$51,000$52,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$37,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$50,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$47,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$51,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$53,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $13,000, about 26% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 6.3 pts across 6 years
56.3%1yr58.6%3yr56.6%5yr62.5%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,335 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 57% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,335
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
57%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 48.2% 644
White 23.3% 311
Other 13.5% 180
Black 8.6% 115
Asian 1.3% 17
Hispanic: 48.2% (644 students)White: 23.3% (311 students)Other: 13.5% (180 students)Black: 8.6% (115 students)Asian: 1.3% (17 students)Total1,335

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Universal Technical Institute-West Texas. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Austin, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
18% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Universal Technical Institute-West Texas offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 53 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
53:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$54,754
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Universal Technical Institute-West Texas

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Universal Technical Institute-West Texas is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Universal Technical Institute-West Texas is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Universal Technical Institute-West Texas

The questions families ask most about Universal Technical Institute-West Texas, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Universal Technical Institute-West Texas hard to get into?
Not especially. Universal Technical Institute-West Texas admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Universal Technical Institute-West Texas?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Universal Technical Institute-West Texas cost?
Budget around $26,117 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Universal Technical Institute-West Texas worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $51,222 a year against a net price of $26,117, about 2.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Universal Technical Institute-West Texas known for?
Mostly Precision Metal Working, Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Universal Technical Institute-West Texas graduates earn?
About $51,222 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Universal Technical Institute-West Texas accredited?
Yes. Universal Technical Institute-West Texas is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Universal Technical Institute-West Texas?
1,335 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Universal Technical Institute-West Texas?
63% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Universal Technical Institute-West Texas a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Universal Technical Institute-West Texas located?
Universal Technical Institute-West Texas is located in Austin, Texas.
What programs does Universal Technical Institute-West Texas offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Precision Metal Working, Vehicle Maintenance, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Universal Technical Institute-West Texas?
53 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.