Public Graduate Strong 75/100

University of Guam

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Mangilao, Guam

About University of Guam

Thinking about University of Guam, a college in Guam where more students graduate in Education than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

University of Guam is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Mangilao, Guam. It enrolls 2,515 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
7.2%
Net Price
$8,598
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,946
Enrollment
2,515
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
75/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 61
Value 67
Affordability 65
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

University of Guam does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,598 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$8,598
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
45%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
12%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$6,110
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$11,414
Room & Board (on-campus)
$7,283
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,957
Books & Supplies
$2,150
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,490
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,698
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,961

Application fee: $52 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,105
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $7,468
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,639
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,272
  • Over $110,000
    $14,692

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$16,786
Median percentile
$23,650
75% percentile
$33,079
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,000 ↓ $3,786
No Pell $10,771 ↓ $6,015
Dependent students $12,000 ↓ $4,786
Independent students $13,000 ↓ $3,786
Female students $12,000 ↓ $4,786
Male students $12,500 ↓ $4,286
Pell recipients: 17.7% (2,978 students)No Pell: 14.7% (2,468 students)Dependent students: 16.4% (2,749 students)Independent students: 17.7% (2,978 students)Female students: 16.4% (2,749 students)Male students: 17.1% (2,864 students)Overall Median$16,786
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $10,771, less than completers ($16,786), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

7% of students who start here finish within six years, and 76% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
7%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,946 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,946
Earning > $25K
59%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$27,000$30,000$32,000$35,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$31,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$36,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$31,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$33,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$43,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.9 pts across 6 years
61.4%1yr72.2%3yr73.9%5yr75.3%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 75% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,515 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 46% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,515
Part-Time
20%
First-Generation
46%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Asian 49.5% 1,245
Other 45.8% 1,153
White 1.5% 38
Hispanic 0.8% 21
Black 0.4% 9
International 0.1% 3
Asian: 49.5% (1,245 students)Other: 45.8% (1,153 students)White: 1.5% (38 students)Hispanic: 0.8% (21 students)Black: 0.4% (9 students)International: 0.1% (3 students)Total2,515

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at University of Guam. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize Suburb Mangilao, Guam
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 208 beds
Adult Learners
20% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

University of Guam offers a varied set of programs: 34 distinct programs across 20 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,289
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$26M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$90,941
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

132 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 38 29% $116,931
Associate Professors 40 30% $95,889
Assistant Professors 33 25% $77,106
Instructors 21 16% $53,801

Pros & Cons of University of Guam

No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of Guam is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, University of Guam is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low.

Frequently Asked Questions about University of Guam

The questions families ask most about University of Guam, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does University of Guam cost?
Budget around $8,598 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Guam worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,946 a year against a net price of $8,598, about 4.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of Guam known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Teacher Education (K-12), Biology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of Guam graduates earn?
About $35,946 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of Guam accredited?
Yes. University of Guam is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
How many students attend University of Guam?
2,515 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of Guam?
7% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of Guam a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is University of Guam located?
University of Guam is located in Mangilao, Guam.
What programs does University of Guam offer?
34 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Teacher Education (K-12), Biology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of Guam?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.