University of New England is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Biddeford, Maine. It enrolls 2,135 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorNew England Commission on Higher Education
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
49/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes61
Value5
Affordability5
Selectivity17
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
University of New England admits 91.6% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
91.6%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether University of New England is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Stable ↑
4.5 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $38,107 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$44,210
Room & Board (on-campus)
$18,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,860
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$63,245
Application fee: $40 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$31,371
$30,001 – $48,000
$32,046
$48,001 – $75,000
$32,348
$75,001 – $110,000
$36,237
Over $110,000
$41,991
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$5,25010%percentile
$8,81525%percentile
$25,250Medianpercentile
$30,60075%percentile
$36,20090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $22,000
↓ $3,250
No Pell $19,500
↓ $5,750
Dependent students $19,500
↓ $5,750
Independent students $25,000
↓ $250
Female students $20,500
↓ $4,750
Male students $19,500
↓ $5,750
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,766, less than completers ($25,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
68% of students who start here finish within six years, and 77% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
68%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
77%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $55,921 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$55,921
Earning > $25K
87%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$49,200
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$58,200
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$54,700
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$48,000
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$51,600
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $9,000, about 15% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
13.9 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Excellent. 89% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,135 students, a mid-sized community.
Total Enrolled
2,135
Part-Time
1%
First-Generation
22%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 84.5%1,805
Hispanic 4.3%92
Other 3.1%66
Asian 2.4%52
Black 2.1%44
International 0.5%10
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at University of New England. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
University of New England offers
an extensive catalog of programs:
59 distinct programs across
18 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$518M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$81,525
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
293 instructional faculty across 5 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
63
22%
$101,853
Associate Professors
86
29%
$90,127
Assistant Professors
87
30%
$75,927
Instructors
1
0%
$87,972
Lecturers
56
19%
$60,156
Pros & Cons of University of New England
No college is right for everyone. Here is where University of New England is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for:
Based on the data, University of New England is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.
Frequently Asked Questions about University of New England
The questions families ask most about University of New England, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is University of New England hard to get into?
Not especially. University of New England admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 91.6%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at University of New England?
91.6% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does University of New England cost?
Budget around $38,107 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of New England worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $55,921 a year against a net price of $38,107, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is University of New England known for?
Mostly Medicine, Social Work, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do University of New England graduates earn?
About $55,921 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is University of New England accredited?
Yes. University of New England is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend University of New England?
2,135 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at University of New England?
68% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is University of New England a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is University of New England located?
University of New England is located in Biddeford, Maine.
What programs does University of New England offer?
59 different programs, most commonly Medicine, Social Work, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at University of New England?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Maine
Other colleges in Maine share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Business Administration
Teacher Education (K-12)
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.