Public Graduate Good 61/100

Utah Tech University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Saint George, Utah

About Utah Tech University

Thinking about Utah Tech University, a college in Utah where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Utah Tech University is a public institution offering graduate degrees based in Saint George, Utah. It enrolls 8,552 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
23.6%
Net Price
$16,039
Median Earnings (10yr)
$44,570
Enrollment
8,552
Student : Faculty
22:1

Accreditor Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 53
Value 42
Affordability 29
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Utah Tech University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $16,039 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$16,039
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
22%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
15%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$6,306
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$18,246
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,434
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,434
Books & Supplies
$900
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$7,474
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,474
Total Cost of Attendance
$20,763

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $13,158
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $13,214
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $15,440
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $18,715
  • Over $110,000
    $20,605

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,255
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$15,000
Median percentile
$17,500
75% percentile
$35,579
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,875 ↓ $6,125
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $9,500
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $9,500
Independent students $11,750 ↓ $3,250
Female students $7,500 ↓ $7,500
Male students $6,801 ↓ $8,199
Pell recipients: 19.3% (2,899 students)No Pell: 12.0% (1,796 students)Dependent students: 12.0% (1,796 students)Independent students: 25.6% (3,838 students)Female students: 16.3% (2,450 students)Male students: 14.8% (2,221 students)Overall Median$15,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($15,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

24% of students who start here finish within six years, and 65% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
24%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
65%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $44,570 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$44,570
Earning > $25K
67%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$37,000$39,000$41,000$43,000$46,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$52,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$42,300

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$41,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$38,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $23,200, about 44% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 23.0 pts across 6 years
66.1%1yr69.5%3yr75.9%5yr89%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 89% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 8,552 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 39% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
8,552
Part-Time
19%
First-Generation
39%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 73.4% 6,273
Hispanic 14.3% 1,224
Other 6.7% 574
International 2.2% 186
Black 1.7% 142
Asian 1.3% 107
White: 73.4% (6,273 students)Hispanic: 14.3% (1,224 students)Other: 6.7% (574 students)International: 2.2% (186 students)Black: 1.7% (142 students)Asian: 1.3% (107 students)Total8,552

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Utah Tech University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Saint George, Utah
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 1,050 beds
Adult Learners
11% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Utah Tech University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 66 distinct programs across 20 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
15 Programs
9 Programs
2 Programs
6 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 22 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
22:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,194
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$18M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$74,982
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

272 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 44 16% $96,124
Associate Professors 76 28% $81,106
Assistant Professors 105 39% $69,906
Instructors 35 13% $57,723
No Rank 12 4% $53,433

Pros & Cons of Utah Tech University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Utah Tech University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families

Frequently Asked Questions about Utah Tech University

The questions families ask most about Utah Tech University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Utah Tech University cost?
Budget around $16,039 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Utah Tech University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $44,570 a year against a net price of $16,039, about 2.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Utah Tech University known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Utah Tech University graduates earn?
About $44,570 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Utah Tech University accredited?
Yes. Utah Tech University is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Utah Tech University?
8,552 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Utah Tech University?
24% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Utah Tech University a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Utah Tech University located?
Utah Tech University is located in Saint George, Utah.
What programs does Utah Tech University offer?
66 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Liberal Arts, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Utah Tech University?
22 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.