Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 65/100

Valley College-Martinsburg

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Martinsburg, West Virginia

About Valley College-Martinsburg

Thinking about Valley College-Martinsburg, a college in West Virginia where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Valley College-Martinsburg is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Martinsburg, West Virginia. It enrolls 765 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
66.7%
Net Price
$25,751
Median Earnings (10yr)
$24,900
Enrollment
765
Student : Faculty
24:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
65/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 83
Value 5
Affordability 55
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Valley College-Martinsburg does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $25,751 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$25,751
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
75%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
82%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $25,497
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $26,541
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $27,669

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,271
25% percentile
$9,500
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$9,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,429 —
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Independent students $9,500 —
Female students $9,429 —
Male students $9,425 —
Pell recipients: 19.3% (1,836 students)No Pell: 11.3% (1,071 students)Dependent students: 11.3% (1,071 students)Independent students: 19.5% (1,850 students)Female students: 19.3% (1,836 students)Male students: 19.3% (1,835 students)Overall Median$9,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($9,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

67% of students who start here finish within six years, and 80% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
67%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
80%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $24,900 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$24,900
Earning > $25K
42%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$24,000$26,000$28,000$31,000$33,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.0 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 765 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 63% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
765
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
63%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 52.6% 402
Black 26.7% 204
Other 6.5% 50
Hispanic 3.8% 29
Asian 0.3% 2
White: 52.6% (402 students)Black: 26.7% (204 students)Other: 6.5% (50 students)Hispanic: 3.8% (29 students)Asian: 0.3% (2 students)Total765

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Valley College-Martinsburg. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize Suburb Martinsburg, West Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
73% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Computer Science graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Valley College-Martinsburg offers a varied set of programs: 10 distinct programs across 3 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
4 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 24 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
24:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$63,500
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Valley College-Martinsburg

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Valley College-Martinsburg is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Valley College-Martinsburg is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Valley College-Martinsburg

The questions families ask most about Valley College-Martinsburg, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Valley College-Martinsburg cost?
Budget around $25,751 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Valley College-Martinsburg worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $24,900 a year against a net price of $25,751, about 1.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Valley College-Martinsburg known for?
Mostly Health Administration, Medical Assisting, Health Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Valley College-Martinsburg graduates earn?
About $24,900 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Valley College-Martinsburg accredited?
Yes. Valley College-Martinsburg is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Valley College-Martinsburg?
765 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Valley College-Martinsburg?
67% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Valley College-Martinsburg a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Valley College-Martinsburg located?
Valley College-Martinsburg is located in Martinsburg, West Virginia.
What programs does Valley College-Martinsburg offer?
10 different programs, most commonly Health Administration, Medical Assisting, Health Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Valley College-Martinsburg?
24 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.