Public Associate Strong 71/100

Victoria College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Victoria, Texas

About Victoria College

Thinking about Victoria College, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Victoria College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Victoria, Texas. It enrolls 2,351 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
21.9%
Net Price
$3,043
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,382
Enrollment
2,351
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 26
Value 96
Affordability 72
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Victoria College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $3,043 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$3,043
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
37%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
7%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,976
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$5,328
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,276
Books & Supplies
$1,600
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,490
Total Cost of Attendance
$10,514

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $2,144
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $4,101
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $4,165
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $5,188

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,747
10% percentile
$3,021
25% percentile
$10,500
Median percentile
$10,740
75% percentile
$18,667
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,562 ↓ $2,938
No Pell $6,500 ↓ $4,000
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $5,000
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $1,000
Female students $7,638 ↓ $2,862
Male students $5,500 ↓ $5,000
Pell recipients: 17.9% (1,882 students)No Pell: 15.4% (1,617 students)Dependent students: 13.0% (1,368 students)Independent students: 22.5% (2,364 students)Female students: 18.1% (1,900 students)Male students: 13.0% (1,368 students)Overall Median$10,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

22% of students who start here finish within six years, and 63% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
22%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
63%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,382 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,382
Earning > $25K
67%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,000$36,000$39,000$41,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$35,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$55,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$36,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$48,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$47,300

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $20,200, about 37% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 12.2 pts across 6 years
54.6%1yr57.8%3yr63.1%5yr66.8%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 67% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,351 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 51% are the first in their family to go to college, and 66% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,351
Part-Time
66%
First-Generation
51%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 60.2% 1,415
White 28.7% 675
Black 5.0% 118
Other 2.2% 52
Asian 1.9% 44
International 0.4% 10
Hispanic: 60.2% (1,415 students)White: 28.7% (675 students)Black: 5.0% (118 students)Other: 2.2% (52 students)Asian: 1.9% (44 students)International: 0.4% (10 students)Total2,351

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Victoria College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Victoria, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
29% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Interdisciplinary Studies graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Victoria College offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

5 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,740
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$22M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$62,287
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

83 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 18 22% $72,894
Associate Professors 38 46% $59,746
Assistant Professors 13 16% $56,460
Instructors 9 11% $64,088
No Rank 5 6% $55,331

Pros & Cons of Victoria College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Victoria College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Victoria College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Victoria College

The questions families ask most about Victoria College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Victoria College hard to get into?
Not especially. Victoria College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Victoria College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Victoria College cost?
Budget around $3,043 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Victoria College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,382 a year against a net price of $3,043, about 13.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Victoria College known for?
Mostly Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Nursing, Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Victoria College graduates earn?
About $42,382 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Victoria College accredited?
Yes. Victoria College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Victoria College?
2,351 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Victoria College?
22% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Victoria College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Victoria College located?
Victoria College is located in Victoria, Texas.
What programs does Victoria College offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Nursing, Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Victoria College?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.